Graduate School

Exceptional scholars, big thinkers, bright minds

Academic Department Graduate Directors

Accounting

Dr. Henry Schwarzbach
Graduate Director
Ballentine Hall
Phone: (401) 874-4327
E-mail: henrys@uri.edu

Applied Math Sciences

Dr. Orlando Merino
Graduate Director
Phone: (401) 874-4442
E-mail: merino@uri.edu

Biological and Environmental Sciences

Dr. Scott McWilliams
Graduate Director
Coastal Institute
Phone: (401) 874-7531
E-mail: srmcwilliams@uri.edu

(Cell and Molecular Biology)
Dr. Bethany Jenkins
279 CBLS
Phone: (401) 874-7551
E-mail: bjenkins@uri.edu

(Ecology and Ecosystem Sciences)
Dr. Graham Forrester
Graduate Director
Coastal Institute
Phone: (401) 874-7054
E-mail: gforrester@uri.edu

(Environmental and Earth Sciences)
Dr. Brian Savage
Graduate Director
Woodward Hall
Phone: (401) 874-5392
E-mail: savage@uri.edu

(Sustainable Agriculture and Food Sciences)
Dr. Katherine Petersson
177 CBLS
Phone: (401) 874-2951
E-mail: kpetersson@uri.edu

(Integrative and Evolutionary Biology)
Dr. Steven Irvine
Graduate Director
Biological Sciences Center
Phone: (401) 874-9204
E-mail: steven.irvine@uri.edu

Business Administration

(MBA)
Ms. Lisa Lancellotta
Coordinator
Ballentine Hall
Phone: (401) 874-4241
E-mail: mba@uri.edu

(MS – Finance)
Dr. Bing Xuan
Phone: (401) 874-4895
E-mail: bingxuan@uri.edu

(PhD – Finance)
Dr. Shaw K. Chen
Graduate Director
Ballentine Hall
Phone: (401) 874-4339
E-mail: chenshaw@uri.edu

(PhD – Marketing)
Dr. Daniel Sheinin
Marketing Area Coordinator
Ballentine Hall
Phone: (401) 874-4232
E-mail: dsheinin@uri.edu

(PhD – Operation and Supply Chain Management)
Dr. Koray Ozpolat
Ballentine Hall
Phone: (401) 874-5750
E-mail: koray@uri.edu

Chemical Engineering

Dr. Michael Greenfield
Graduate Director
Crawford Hall
Phone: (401) 874-9289
E-mail: greenfield@uri.edu

Chemistry

Dr. Brenton DeBoef
Graduate Director
Pastore Hall
Phone: (401) 874-9580
E-mail: bdeboef@uri.edu

Civil & Environmental Engineering

(MS)
Dr. George Tsiatas
Phone: (401) 874-5117
E-mail: georgetsiatas@uri.edu

(PhD)
Dr. Mayrai Gindy
Graduate Director
Phone: (401) 874-5587
E-mail: mayraig@uri.edu

Communication Studies

Dr. Abran Salazar
Graduate Director
302 Davis Hall
Phone: (401) 874-4725
E-mail: abran_salazar@uri.edu

Computer Science and Statistics

(Computer Science)
Dr. Gerard Baudet
Graduate Director
Tyler Hall
Phone: (401) 874-2701
E-mail: gerard@uri.edu

(PSM – Cyber Security)
Professor Lisa Dipippo
Tyler Hall
Phone: (401) 874-2701
E-mail: dipippo@uri.edu

(Statistics)
Dr. Liliana Gonzalez
Graduate Director
Tyler Hall
Phone: (401) 874-2701
E-mail: lilianaloy@uri.edu

Education

(MA/MA-TCP)
Dr. Terry Deeney
Graduate Director
608 Chafee Hall
Phone: (401) 874-4872
E-mail: tdeeney@uri.edu

(PhD – Joint with RIC)
Dr. Julie Coiro
Co-Director
608 Chafee Hall
Phone: (401) 874-4877
E-mail: jcoiro@uri.edu

Dr. Janet Johnson
Co-Director
Rhode Island College, Horace Mann Hall
Phone: (401) 456-8701
E-mail: jjohnson@ric.edu

(Special Education)
Dr. Joanne Eichinger
Chaffee Hall
Phone: (401) 874-7420
E-mail: jeichinger@uri.edu

(Physical Education/TCP)
Dr. Emily Clapham
Independence Square II, Suite P
Phone: (401) 874-5447
E-mail: eclapham@uri.edu

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

Dr. Frederick Vetter
Graduate Director
Kelley Hall
Phone: (401) 874-5141
E-mail: fvetter@uri.edu

English

Dr. Kathleen Davis
Graduate Director
175B Swan Hall
Phone: (401) 874-2016
E-mail: kathleendavis@uri.edu

Environmental & Natural Resource Economics

Dr. Hiro Uchida
Graduate Director
Coastal Institute Kingston
Phone: (401) 874-2238
E-mail: huchida@uri.edu

Environmental Science & Management – MESM

Dr. Peter August
Graduate Co-Director
Coastal Institute Kingston
Phone: (401) 874-4794
E-mail: pvaugust@uri.edu

Dr. Art Gold
Graduate Co-Director
Coastal Institute Kingston
Phone: (401) 874-2903
E-mail: agold@uri.edu

(Community Planning)
Dr. Farhad Atash
Graduate Director
Rodman Hall
Phone: (401) 874-2982
E-mail: fatash@uri.edu

(Conservation Biology)
Dr. Peter Paton
Graduate Director
110 Coastal Institute
Phone: (401) 874-2986
E-mail: ppaton@uri.edu

(Earth and Hydrologic Science)
Dr. Thomas Boving
Graduate Director
315 Woodward Hall
Phone: (401) 874-7053
E-mail: tboving@uri.edu

(Environmental Planning and Design)
Dr. William R. Gordon Jr.
Graduate Director
304 Rodman Hall
Phone: (401) 874-5108
E-mail: williamrgordon@uri.edu

(Environmental Policy and Management)
Dr. Peter August
Graduate Co-Director
Coastal Institute Kingston
Phone: (401) 874-4794
E-mail:  pvaugust@uri.edu

(Geographic Information Systems and Remote Sensing)
Dr. Art Gold
Graduate Co-Director
Coastal Institute Kingston
Phone: (401) 874-2903
E-mail: agold@uri.edu

(Sustainable Systems)
Dr. David Bengtson
Graduate Director
Woodward Hall
Phone: (401) 874-2668
E-mail:dbengtson@uri.edu

(Wetland, Watershed, and Ecosystem Science)
Dr. Art Gold
Graduate Co-Director
Coastal Institute Kingston
Phone: (401) 874-2903
E-mail: agold@uri.edu

Environmental Sciences(CELS)

Dr. Brian Savage
Graduate Director
Woodward Hall
Phone: (401) 874-5392
E-mail: savage@uri.edu

Geosciences
Dr. Thomas Boving
Graduate Director
315 Woodward Hall
Phone: (401) 874-7053
E-mail: tboving@uri.edu

Natural Resource Science
Dr. Graham Forrester
Graduate Director
Coastal Institute
Phone: (401) 874-7054
E-mail: gforrester@uri.edu

Plant Sciences and Entomology
Dr. Scott McWilliams
Graduate Director
Coastal Institute
Phone: (401) 874-7531
E-mail: srmcwilliams@uri.edu

Fisheries and Veterinary Sciences
Dr. Marta Gomez-Chiarri
Graduate Director
169 CBLS Building
Phone: (401) 874-2917
E-mail: gomezchi@uri.edu

Gender and Women’s Studies

Dr. Rosaria Pisa
312 Roosevelt Hall
Phone: (401) 874-5150
E-mail: rpisa@uri.edu

History

Dr. Evelyn Sterne
Graduate Director
Washburn Hall
Phone: (401) 874-4074
E-mail: sterne@uri.edu

Human Development & Family Studies

(College Student Personnel)
Dr. Katie Branch
Graduate Director
Quinn Hall
Phone: (401) 874-5487
E-mail: kbranch@uri.edu

(Early Childhood Education)
Dr. Susan Brand
Graduate Director
102 Transition Center
Phone: (401) 874-4947
E-mail: susant@uri.edu

(Human Development & Family Studies)
Dr. Sue Adams
Graduate Director
102 Transition Center
Phone: (401) 874-5958
E-mail: suekadams@uri.edu

(Marriage and Family Therapy)
Dr. Jerome Adams
Graduate Director
Transition Center
Phone: (401) 874-5962
E-mail: jadams@uri.edu

(MS, TCP, Graduate Certificate)
Dr. Karen McCurdy
Graduate Director
102 Transition Center
Phone: (401) 874-5960
E-mail: kmccurdy@uri.edu

Interdisciplinary Neuroscience (INP)

Dr. Alycia Mosley Austin
Graduate Director
Graduate School
Phone: (401) 874-4322
E-mail: alycia@uri.edu

Kinesiology

Dr. Matthew J. Delmonico
Graduate Director
214 Independence Square
Phone: (401) 874-5440
E-mail: delmonico@uri.edu

Labor Relations & Human Resources

Dr. Matthew Bodah
Graduate Director
Hart House Labor Research Center
Phone: (401) 874-2497
E-mail: mbodah@uri.edu

Library and Information Studies

Dr. Valerie Karno
Graduate Director
Rodman Hall
Phone: (401) 874-2878
E-mail: vkarno@gmail.com

Marine Affairs

(MA and MMA)
Dr. Austin Becker
Graduate Director
Coastal Institute
Phone: (401) 874-4192
E-mail: abecker@uri.edu

(PhD)
Dr. Seth Macinko
Graduate Director
Washburn Hall
Phone: (401) 874-4820
E-mail: macinko@uri.edu

Mathematics

Dr. Orlando Merino
Graduate Director
200 Lippitt Hall
Phone: (401) 874-4442
E-mail: merino@uri.edu

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

Dr. David Chelidze
Graduate Director
203 Wales Hall
Phone: (401) 874-2356
E-mail: chelidze@uri.edu

Medical Laboratory Science

Dr. Gregory Paquette
Graduate Director
CBLS Building – 369
Phone: (401) 874-2315
E-mail: gpaquette@uri.edu

Music

Dr. Manabu Takasawa
Graduate Co-Director
Fine Arts Center
Phone: (401) 874-2790
E-mail: takasawa@uri.edu

Dr. Eliane Aberdam
Graduate Co-Director
Fine Arts Center
Phone: (401) 874-2794
E-mail: eliane@uri.edu

Nursing/Nursing Practitioner

Dr. Patricia Burbank
Graduate Director
White Hall
Phone: (401) 874-5314
E-mail: pburbank@uri.edu

Nutrition & Food Sciences

(MS)
Dr. Ingrid Lofgren
Graduate Director
Ranger Hall
Phone: (401) 874-5706
E-mail: ingridlofgren@uri.edu

(Online MS Dietetic)
Dr. Cathy English
Graduate Director
Ranger Hall
Phone: (401) 874-5869
E-mail: cathy@uri.edu

Ocean Engineering

Dr. Sau-Lon Hu
Graduate Director
Sheets Building
Narragansett Bay Campus
Phone: (401) 874-6688
E-mail: jameshu@uri.edu

Oceanography

Dr. David C. Smith
Associate Dean
GSO Bay Campus
Narragansett
Phone: (401) 874-6246
E-mail: dcsmith@uri.edu

Pharmaceutical Sciences

Dr. Bongsup Cho
Professor of Medicinal Chemistry
Fogarty Hall
Phone (401) 874-5024
E-mail: bcho@uri.edu

Physical Therapy

Dr. Susan Roush
Graduate Director
Independence Square
Phone: (401) 874-5001
E-mail: roush@uri.edu

Physics

Dr. Leonard Kahn
Graduate Co-Director
212 East Hall
Phone: (401) 874-2053
E-mail: lkahn@uri.edu

Dr. Alexander Meyerovich
Graduate Co-Director
208 East Hall
Phone: (401) 874-2047
E-mail: sf0101@uri.edu

Political Science

Dr. Marc Hutchison
Graduate Director
Washburn Hall
Phone: (401) 874-4054
E-mail: mlhutch@uri.edu

Public Administration

Professor Robert Weygand
216 Carlotti Hall
Phone: (401) 874-2124
E-mail: bobweygand@uri.edu

Psychology

(Clinical)
Dr. Mark Robbins
Graduate Director
Chafee Hall
Phone: (401) 874-5082
E-mail: markrobb@uri.edu

(Behavioral Science)
Dr. Joe Rossi
Graduate Director
Chafee Hall
Phone: (401) 874-5983
E-mail: jrossi@uri.edu

(School)
Dr. Gary Stoner
Graduate Director
Chafee Hall
Phone: (401) 874-4234
E-mail: gstoner@uri.edu

Spanish

Dr. Clement White
Graduate Director
Independence Hall
Phone: (401) 874-5911
E-mail: cwhite@uri.edu

Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Dr. Dana Kovarsky
Independence Square
Phone: (401) 874-2735
E-mail: danak@uri.edu

Textiles

Dr. Linda Welters
Chair/Graduate Director
Quinn Hall
Phone: (401) 874-4574
E-mail: lwelters@uri.edu

Think Big We Do

Copyright © 2016 University of Rhode Island.