Job Well Done!

Happy trails to members of the URI academic community who, after decades of serving the University and its students, retired this June.

Dayle Joseph, top, and W. Lynn McKinney

Dayle Joseph, dean of the College of Nursing, who has been educating nurses since 1973, and W. Lynn McKinney, dean of the College of Human Science and Services, who oversaw departments as diverse as communication disorders, human development and family studies, kinesiology, physical therapy, the School of Education, and Textiles, Fashion Merchandising and Design, have hopefully stepped into a world of fewer meetings, phone calls, and emails. McKinney joined the University in 1972.

Wilfred Dvorak, associate dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, and Joan Lausier, assistant dean of the College of Pharmacy also retired. Dvorak served 44 years, Lausier served for 41.

William Klenk, professor of art, wins the retirement prize this year. He served 51 years.

Alphabetically speaking, faculty members with 40 or more years of service who brought out the sunscreen and the lawn chairs are: Al Killilea, professor of political science, Gerasimos Ladas, professor of mathematics, Jan Northby, professor of physics; and Kenneth Rogers, professor of languages.

Those who served more than 30 years are Donald Gray, associate professor of chemical engineering; Robert Manteiga, professor of languages; Martha Patnoad, professor of nutrition and food science; and Malcolm Spaulding, professor of ocean engineering.

Faculty members who worked 20 or more years who retired are Joseph Dealteris, professor of fisheries, animal, and veterinary sciences; and E. Gale Eaton, a professor in and the director of the Graduate School of Library and Information Studies; and Barbara Luebke, professor of journalism.