Poets and Writers

The annual Ocean State Summer Writing Conference was held June 24–26 at URI’s Kingston Campus. The conference featured National Book Award winner Julia Glass, author of three novels, including The Three Junes; Whiting Writer’s Award winner Wayne Koestenbaum, author of five non-fiction books, a novel, and five books of poetry; Guggenheim winner Jacqueline Osherow, author of five books of poetry, and many other distinguished writers and poets.

Conference highlights included keynote addresses from the featured authors, along with master classes, workshops, and seminars in fiction, poetry, non-fiction, playwriting/screenwriting, and publishing/editing. Participants also met with colleagues and master writers for one-on-one consultation and manuscript evaluation and enjoyed socializing and networking with fellow writers.