The Fourth Annual Distinguished Achievement Awards


URI President David Dooley called it, “one of the most enjoyable and inspiring events that I have participated in since coming to Rhode Island.”

The president was referring to the fourth annual Distinguished Achievement Awards celebration, which took place at the Providence Westin Hotel on Saturday evening, October 17.

“The night celebrated the achievements of many alumni from all across the University. I could not help but be amazed at their commitment to excellence, their dedication to making a difference in our world, and what they have accomplished.”

—URI President David M. Dooley

It was indeed an impressive and memorable evening that was capped by President Dooley’s announcement that the University’s Making a Difference capital campaign has achieved its $100 million goal a full 15 months ahead of schedule. (The campaign will officially close on December 31, 2010).

“Reaching the $100 million mark for the University’s campaign is remarkable progress, and the willingness of so many of our alumni and friends to support the University is inspiring,” said President Dooley. “We need to continue our course to reach the heights that the University is capable of achieving. Together, we can make amazing things happen.”

“This is a major milestone for the University,” said Robert Beagle, vice president for University Advancement, whose division launched and led the Leadership Gift Phase of the campaign, generating more than half of the total goal. “Funds raised throughout this campaign are truly making a critical difference to the vitality of the University. We are enormously grateful. Over the years, many new prospects and friends were developed, and it is rewarding to see them step up to participate in this campaign.”

So far nearly 34,000 alumni and friends have made donations to the University during this campaign, representing participation from about one-third of the alumni base. Almost 10,000 of those donors were first-time contributors.

View video of four of the 2009 Distinguished Achievement Award winners:

Patricia Miller Anton ’79

James V. Diller ’57

Richard A. Kerr, Ph.D. ’77

Edward M. Rudnic ’78, M.S. ’82, Ph.D. ’83