Women’s Rowing Captures Atlantic 10 Championship

The team won the 2010 Atlantic 10 Championship on April 17 on the Cooper River in Pennsauken, N.J. Rhody’s conference championship is its second in the last three years. The Rams won the regatta with 53 points, defeating defending champion Massachusetts, which finished second with 40 points.

Rhody’s varsity eight and second varsity eight each won its race, clocking times of 6:37.08 and 6:46.06, respectively. The Rams varsity eight has claimed first in the last four races. URI also clocked a winning performance in the novice eight with a time of 7:10.07.

Seniors Jenna Hetzell, Becky Cotreau, and Raejean Pearse-Theroux were each named All-Conference First Team, while junior Jenessa Redfern earned All-Conference Second Team honors. Head coach Shelagh Donohoe earned her third Atlantic 10 Coach of the Year honor.