Find collaborators, equipment

The Rhode Island NSF EPSCOR network includes scientists from around the state with a wide variety of interests and projects. You can learn more about our scientists and designers here and also at EXPspace, a collaborative portal for artists and scientists hosted by RISD.

CoresRI.org lists hundreds of shared research instruments and services at 12 academic and medical institutions around the state. The resource is open to any scientist looking to arrange access to needed facilities for research purposes.

If you would like to be added to this list or have any updated information, please email Amy Dunkle, communications coordinator, Rhode Island NSF EPSCoR.

 

Name Affiliation Email Research Interests
Elisabeth Arevalo PC earevalo@providence.edu Evolutionary biology and molecular evolution, using lizards and wasps as model organisms to answer questions in a phylogenetic framework; comparison of biology and social structure of tropical and temperate species
Maia Bailey PC mbailey9@providence.edu How selection pressures on genes, individuals, and populations act together to produce variation, using plant sex expression as model systems
David Baier PC dbaier@providence.edu Integration of studies of living animals with fossil skeletons to better understand how bird wings evolved, how joints work, and how bodily form is linked to function
Stanley Barnett URI barnett@egr.uri.edu Biochemical engineering; alternate sources of energy and chemicals
Loren Byrne RWU lbyrne@rwu.edu Soil ecology; urban ecology; conservation biology; relationships between art and science
Robert Campbell URI rcampbell@gso.uri.edu Zooplankton ecology; role of zooplankton in high latitude Arctic and Subarctic ecosystems and how climate change may impact the structure and function of those systems
Charlie Cannon RISD ccannon@risd.edu Interactions of people with environment in relation to designing stronger, more stable communities
Dawn Cardace URI cardace@mail.uri.edu Minerals of Earth’s mantle, microbe-mineral interactions, biogeochemistry, geological repositories of carbon, geomicrobiology, astrobiology
Jameson Chace Salve jameson.chace@salve.edu Biology; biomedical science; environmental science
John Costello PC costello@providence.edu Marine zooplankton ecology
Julia Crowley-Parmentier Bryant jcrowle1@bryant.edu Coastal hazards; environmental education; geochemistry; geology; climate change; energy; water pollution
Joseph DeGiorgis PC jdegiorg@providence.edu Microtubule-based transport in the squid giant axon and role of amyloid precursor protein; neurobiology; light and electron microscopy; art and design in science (specifically microscopy images)
Roland DeGouvenain RIC rdegouvenain@ric.edu Dynamics of forest response to disturbances (fire, tropical, storms, recreational use); how some tree life history traits that may be adapted to disturbance may evolve when disturbance regimes are altered (by humans or naturally)
Caroline Gottschalk Druschke URI cgd@uri.edu Community-based writing, rhetorical theory, ethnography, material rhetoric, environmental communication, first year writing, collaborative teaching
Casey Dunn Brown casey_dunn@brown.edu Historical life on Earth; morphology; evolutionary properties in relation to historical patterns; siphonophores and the evolution of their colony-level organization
Jason Dwyer URI jdwyer@chm.uri.edu Fabricating and optimizing nanopore devices to be able to study a range of pharmaceutical drug candidates to fundamental biophysics governing processes like antibody-antigen recognition
Erika Edwards Brown erika_edwards@brown.edu Biomedical ecology; evolutionary biology
Patrick Ewanchuk PC ewanchuk@providence.edu Population and community ecology of marine plants, algae, and invertebrates; maintenance of New England salt marshes and understanding nutrient and hydrological changes on salt marsh plant communities
Breea Govenar RIC bgovenar@ric.edu Marine benthic ecology; invertebrate diversity and evolution; causes and consequences of species diversity; food webs; relationships between community structure and ecosystem function; deep-sea hydrothermal vents; marine habitats with steep environmental gradients and chronic disturbance
Shawn Greenlee RISD sgreenle@risd.edu Acoustic ecology; sonic environments; phonography; sound recording and reproduction
Todd Guilfoos URI Todd.guilfoos@gmail.com Water economics, agent based modeling
Edward Hawrot Brown edward_hawrot@brown.edu Neuronal nicotinic acetylcholine receptors (nAChRs) are ligand gated ion channels widely expressed in the Central and Peripheral Nervous Systems. nAChRs play crucial roles in modulating a wide range of higher cognitive functions by mediating presynaptic, postsynaptic, and extrasynaptic signaling. Thus far, nine alpha (α2-α10) and three beta (β2, β3, and β4) subunits have been identified in the CNS, and these subunits assemble in a pentameric shape and they compose a diversity of functional nAChRs. The receptors play a crucial role in many neurological diseases including Alzheimer’s Disease, Parkinson’s Disease, Dementia, Nicotine Addiction, and Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD). We are studying the proteomes associated with the macromolecular complexes involving the intracellular protein loops of nAChRs.  We initially are focusing on the homomeric alpha7 receptor.  We also have been studying how we can minimally mutate nAChR subunits to confer on them sensitivity to alpha-bungarotoxin, the classic antagonist of skeletal muscle-type nicotinic receptors.  We also have prepared a knock-in mouse expressing an alpha-bungarotoxin-sensitive alpha3-subunit.
Steven Irvine URI Steven.irvine@uri.edu Gene regulation in development; evolution of developmental systems; transcriptional regulation in the model organism Ciona; asexual development in colonial tunicates.
Bethany Jenkins URI bjenkins@uri.edu Microbial ecology and molecular ecology; genomics; oceanography
Chris Lane URI clane@mail.uri.edu Comparative evolutionary genomics; biodiversity; evolution of life history traits
Corey Lang URI clang@mail.uri.edu Energy and climate change economics, housing markets, applied econometrics
Dale Leavitt RWU dleavitt@rwu.edu Aquaculture; invertebrate ecology and physiology; animal nutrition
Heather Leslie Brown heather_leslie@brown.edu Ecology; policy; management of coastal marine ecosystems
Rainer Lohmann URI lohmann@gso.uri.edu Organic geochemistry; pollution fluxes; organic contaminants
Lucie Maranda URI lmaranga@gso.uri.edu Timecourse development of biofouling microbial communities onto immersed surfaces in marine environments
Dan McNally Bryant dlm1@bryant.edu Bioremediation; fate and transport of toxic chemicals through the environment; population ecology; microbial community studies in stressful marine environments
Susanne Menden-Deuer URI smenden@gso.uri.edu Plankton ecology; predator-prey interactions (laboratory, field, modeling)
Sunshine Menezes URI sunshine@gso.uri.edu Biological oceanography, marine ecology, coastal development issues, environmental policy, energy policy, diversity in science and the media, science communication
Rebeka Merson RIC rmerson@ric.edu Molecular pathways involved in environmental chemical stress
Serena Moseman-Valtierra URI smoseman@mail.uri.edu Coastal ecology, salt marsh ecology, biogeochemistry; human impacts on nitrogen cycling in coastal wetlands
David Nelson URI dnelson@uri.edu Molecular basis of virulence in pathogenic bacteria; bacterial physiology; regulation of bacterial gene expression; bacterial stress response
Joanna Norris URI jnorris@uri.edu Function of the genes encoding different cellulose synthase proteins in moss by fluorescent labeling and other methods
Neal Overstrom RISD noverstr@risd.edu Environmental education and literacy; exhibit development; zoological management; aquatic animal research
David Rand Brown david_rand@brown.edu Mitochondrial genetics of fitness and aging in Drosophila; thermal selection in Drosophila; marine evolutionary genetics
Chris Reid Bryant creid@bryant.edu Analytical biochemistry; biotechnology; microbiology; glycobiology; carbohydrate-acting enzymes
Eric Roberts RIC eroberts@ric.edu Structure, synthesis and evolution of plant cell walls and cell wall polysaccharides; freshwater and marine algae and other microbes that synthesize polysaccharides similar to those found in plant cell walls
Chris Rose RISD crose@risd.edu Links between materials science, art-science collaboration, and international cross-border projects
Tatiana Rynearson URI rynearson@gso.uri.edu Understanding ecological and evolutionary processes shaping genetic diversity in plankton and how these processes affect community structure, function, and productivity
Alison Shakarian Salve shakaria@salve.edu Molecular and cell biology of the protozoan pathogen Leishmania
Roxanna Smolowitz RWU rsmolowitz@rwu.edu Aquatic animal diseases; effect of environment on disease occurance
Jennifer Specker URI jspecker@gso.uri.edu Metamorphosis of flounder, reproductive biology of commercially important marine fishes, the endocrine regulation of the gut and gills during development and adaptation, and stress and anesthetics in marine fishes
Tom Sproul URI sproul@mail.uri.edu Environmental economics, agricultural policy, and microeconomic theory
JD Swanson Salve jd.swanson@salve.edu Biology; biomedical sciences
David Taylor RWU dtaylor@rwu.edu Anthropogenic impacts on marine and estuarine fishes; recruitment dynamics and early life history of fish; fish population and dynamics; environmental toxicology
Carol Thornber URI thornber@uri.edu Marine community ecology; life cycle dynamics; harmful algal blooms
Heather Townsend CCRI hmtownsend@ccri.edu Biology
Emi Uchida URI emi@uri.edu Environmental economics and policy, ecosystem services, environment and poverty
Hirotsugu Uchida URI uchida@uri.edu Natural resource economics, fisheries management
Kerri Warren RWU kwarren@rwu.edu Developmental biology; vertebrate organ formation; development of cardiovascular function
Daniel Weinreich Brown daniel_weinreich@brown.edu Theoretical population genetics; experimental protein evolution
Gary Wessel Brown gary_wessel@brown.edu Examining the molecular biology of oogenesis, fertilization, and the specification of primordial germ cells during early development; conserved mechanisms found in humans, mice, starfish, and sea urchins
John Williams RIC jcwilliams@ric.edu Microwave assisted organic synthesis (MAOS); DNA and protein binding of arylphosphonium salt cationic lipophiles; synthesis and toxicity screening of estrogen receptor binders; Isolation of crystalline DNA-small molecule complexes for structure determination; computational screening of these complexes; isothermal titration calorimetry of DNA-phosphonium salt complexes; computational screening of diverse libraries for estrogen receptor activity; conventional and MAOS synthesis of antibiotic polymers; MAOS of resin-supported polypeptide neuroprotective agents; synthesis of fluorescent-labeled arylphosphonium salts to study selective uptake into tumor cells and mitochondria; pedagogy of introduction of computational chemistry at the high school and college level
David Vito CCRI dvito@ccri.edu Biology

 

Think Big We Do

Copyright © 2017 University of Rhode Island.