URI Home*A*Syst

Water Quality Program - College of the Environment and Life Sciences

About Us

The URI Home*A*Syst Program is an educational, technical resource to Rhode Island residents.  We work to provide residents with the skills and resources needed to protect their drinking water quality, the quality of the State’s water resources, and to take action to protect their health and the environment.

Accomplishments
URI Home*A*Syst has worked with countless residents and has partnered with many local, state, regional and federal agencies and organizations to protect water quality, since it began in 1987.  URI was one of the founding members of the National Home*A*Syst Program, which consists of a network of Extension programs across the country.  One focus of our program is private drinking water well protection – for a summary of program accomplishments please click here.

Staff & Partners

URI Extension State Water Quality Program
Art Gold, Director 
agold@uri.edu | 401-874-2903 
110 Coastal Institute, Kingston, RI 02881
Alyson McCann, Coordinator 
alyson@uri.edu | 401-874-5398 
001D Coastal Institute, Kingston, RI 02881

RI NEMO
Lorraine Joubert, Program Director 
ljoubert@uri.edu
 401-874-2138
Lisa DeProspo Philo, Communications Specialist 
lphilo@uri.edu
401-874-5687

New England Onsite Wastewater Training Program
George Loomis, Director
 gloomis@uri.edu | 401-874-4558
 001C Coastal Institute, Kingston, RI 02881
David Kalen, Program Manager
 davidkalen@mail.uri.edu | 401-874-5950
 001H Coastal Institute, Kingston, RI 02881

URI Watershed Watch
Linda Green, Director
 lgreen@uri.edu | 401-874-2905 
001A Coastal Institute, Kingston, RI 02881
Elizabeth Herron, Coordinator 
emh@uri.edu | 401-874-4552
 001F Coastal Institute, Kingston, RI 02881

URI Watershed Hydrology Lab
Art Gold, Director
 agold@uri.edu | 401-874-2903
 110 Coastal Institute, Kingston, RI 02881
Kelly Addy, Research Associate kaddy@uri.edu| 401-874-7532
 013 Coastal Institute, Kingston, RI 02881

Partnering Agencies & Organizations

  • RI Department of Health
  • RI Department of Environmental Management
  • U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
  • RI Conservation Districts
  • RI Ground Water Association
  • Local communities and many non-profit agencies and organizations
Think Big We Do

Copyright © 2017 University of Rhode Island.