URI
Think Big, We Do.
Rhode Island Seal

The URI Work-Life Committee

The URI Work-Life Committee includes a group of volunteer staff, faculty, and students who formed in 2003 due to the joint efforts of the URI NSF ADVANCE Institutional Transformation Program and the URI President’s Commission on the Status of Women. The Committee remains active, meeting throughout the year.  Its mission is to increase awareness about the importance of workplace flexibility and address the needs of our changing workforce by promoting work-life policies, programs, research, and best practices at URI and beyond. In addition to dedicated volunteer efforts, the work of the Committee has been enabled through funding from the National Science Foundation ADVANCE program, the Elsevier Foundation, the URI Schmidt Labor Research Center, and the Division of Administration and Finance.

Contact us! Contact individual committee members below, or email: worklife@etal.uri.edu.


Members (2011 – 2012)

Laura Beauvais Laura Beauvais, Ph.D.
Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs and Professor of Management
Room 114, Green Hall, 35 Campus Avenue
401.874.4341
beauvais@uri.edu
sharon Sharon Bell,CPA, CFA
University Controller
Room 110, Carlotti Building
75 Lower College Rd.
401.874.2378sbbell@mail.uri.edu
bergen Sue Bergen
Associate Athletics Director, Finance/SWA
3 Keeney Road
401.874.5396
sbergen@mail.uri.edu
Matthew Bodah Matthew Bodah, Ph.D.
Chair, Department of Economics
Research Director, Schmidt Labor Research Center
807 Chafee Social Science Center
401.874.2497
mbodah@uri.edu
trish Patricia Casey, CPA, CFE
Associate Controller
Room 103, Carlotti Bldg.
75 Lower College Rd.
401.874.4422
pcasey@mail.uri.edu
Laura Kenerson
Director, Personnel Services, Human Resource Administration
80 Lower College Rd.
401.874.5271
kenerson@uri.edu
helen Helen Mederer, Ph.D. (Co-Chair)
Professor of Sociology
Department of Sociology and Anthropology
Chaffee Social Science Center
401.874.4144
hmederer@uri.edu
doug Doug Michael
Assistant Director of Custodial Services
Facility Services
523 Plains Road
401.874.2463
dmichael@uri.edu
Richard Scholl Richard Scholl, Ph.D.
Director, Schmidt Labor Research Center
36 Upper College Road
401.874.4347
rscholl@uri.edu
Karen Sherman Karen J. Sherman
Department of Housing and Residential Life
Roger Williams Commons, 18 Butterfield Road
401.874.5120
karen@uri.edu
Barbara Silver Barbara Silver, Ph.D. (Co-Chair)
Research Coordinator, Schmidt Labor Research Center
36 Upper College Road
401.874.9422
silver@uri.edu
Carolyn Sovet
Director, URI Women’s Center
22 Upper College Road
401.874.5412
sovet@uri.edu

 

Copyright © 2014 University of Rhode Island.

The University of Rhode Island
Think Big, We Do.
A-ZDirectoryContact UsJump to top