Dr. Tom Rossby Honored with Ewing Medal


At the Annual Fall Meeting of the American Geophysical Union, Dr. H. Thomas Rossby, a professor at the University of Rhode Island’s Graduate School of Oceanography, received the 2009 Maurice Ewing Medal presented by AGU President Tim Grove. Established in 1974 and jointly sponsored with the U.S. Navy, the award is presented annually to an individual “who has led the way in understanding physical, geophysical, and geological processes in the ocean; who is a leader in scientific ocean engineering, technology, and instrumentation; or who has given outstanding service to marine science.”

For more information, please read the full press release.