Online Education

A Division of the Office for the Advancement of Teaching & Learning

State Authorization Information


The University of Rhode Island’s online programs are authorized through the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (SARA).

Please make sure to scroll down the page to see SARA and Non-SARA states where URI can offer its online programs and classes.

Currently, the University of Rhode Island offers all of our programs and certificates to students who are taking their classes in the following SARA states:

  • Alabama (AL)
  • Alaska (AK)
  • Arizona (AZ)
  • Arkansas (AR)
  • Colorado (CO)
  • Connecticut (CT)
  • Delaware (DE)
  • District of Columbia (DC)
  • Georgia (GA)
  • Hawaii (HI)
  • Idaho (ID)
  • Illinois (IL)
  • Indiana (IN)
  • Iowa (IA)
  • Kansas (KS)
  • Kentucky (KY)
  • Louisiana (LA)
  • Maine (ME)
  • Maryland (MD)
  • Michigan (MI)
  • Minnesota (MN)
  • Mississippi (MS)
  • Missouri (MO)
  • Montana (MT)
  • Nebraska (NE)
  • Nevada (NV)
  • New Hampshire (NH)
  • New Jersey (NJ)
  • New Mexico (NM)
  • New York (NY)
  • North Carolina (NC)
  • North Dakota (ND)
  • Ohio (OH)
  • Oklahoma (OK)
  • Oregon (OR)
  • Pennsylvania (PA)
  • Rhode Island (RI)
  • South Carolina (SC)
  • South Dakota (SD)
  • Tennessee (TN)
  • Texas (TX)
  • Utah (UT)
  • Vermont (VT)
  • Virginia (VA)
  • Washington (WA)
  • West Virginia (WV)
  • Wisconsin (WI)
  • Wyoming (WY)


Additionally, URI is authorized to offer our programs to students in the following states:

  • California (CA)
  • Florida (FL)
  • Massachusetts (MA)

Return to Online Programs Page

Think Big We Do

Copyright © 2018 University of Rhode Island.