Leadership Team

Principal Investigator & Co-PIs

Geoffrey Bothun

Project Director, Professor of Chemical Engineering, University of Rhode Island Phone: 401.874.9518 Email: gbothun@uri.edu 

BREEA GOVENAR

Thrust 1, Inter-Thrust 2, Associate Professor of Biology, Rhode Island College Phone: 401.456.9631 Email: bgovenar@ric.edu

JEFFREY MORGAN

Thrust 3, Inter-Thrust 4, Graduate Program co-director, Biotechnology Graduate Program Professor: Medical Science, Engineering, Brown University Phone: 401.863.9419 Email: jeffrey_morgan@brown.edu 

NEAL OVERSTROM

Inter-Thrust 1, Director, Edna Lawrence Nature Lab, Rhode Island School of Design Phone: 401.454.6166 Email: noverstr@risd.edu

LEWIS ROTHSTEIN

Thrust 2, Professor of Physical Oceanography, URI Graduate School of Oceanography,  Phone: 401.874.6517 Email: lrothstein@uri.edu 

Thrust Leads

Joseph DeGiorgis

Inter-Thrust 1, Associate Professor of Biology, Providence College Phone: 401-865-1239 Email: jdegiorg@providence.edu

Jason Dwyer

Thrust 3, Associate Professor of Chemistry, University of Rhode Island Phone: 401,874.4648 Email: jdwyer@chm.uri.edu 

Katherine Flynn

Inter-Thrust 2, Executive Director, Business Engagement Center, University of Rhode Island Phone: 401-874-7084 Email: khflynn@uri.edu

Baylor Fox-Kemper

Thrust 2, Associate Professor of Earth, Environmental, & Planetary Sciences, Brown University Phone: Email: baylor@brown.edu 

Kia Huffman

Inter-Thrust 4, Cyberinfrastructure Architect, Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, Brown University Phone: 401-863-6399 Email: kia_huffman@brown.edu

Bethany Jenkins

Thrust 1, Associate Professor of Cellular and Molecular Biology, University of Rhode Island Phone: 401.874.7551 Email: bjenkins@uri.edu 

Jim Lemire

Inter-Thrust 2, Undergraduate Research Coordinator at RI EPSCoR, Adjunct Instructor, Department of Biology, Roger Williams University Phone: 401-254-5718 Email: jlemire@rwu.edu

Sunshine Menezes

Inter-Thrust 2, Executive Director, Metcalf Institute for Marine & Environmental Reporting, University of Rhode Island Phone: 401-874-6499 Email: sunshine@uri.edu

Charles 'Chuck' Watson

Inter-Thrust 2, Assistant Director of Diversity, Dean’s Offce-College of Engineering, University of Rhode Island Phone: 401-874-4976 Email: hitman@uri.edu

Partner Leads

Christine Smith

Managing Director of Innovation, RI Commerce Corporation, Phone: 401-278-9197 Email: Christine.Smith@commerceri.com

Administrative Team

Sally J. Beauman

Project Administrator, Inter-Thrust 3, Phone: 401-874-6880 Email: sbeauman@uri.edu

Barbara (BJ) Carangia

Scientific Research Grant Assistant Phone: 401-874-6234 Email: bcarangia@uri.edu

Shaun Kirby

Communications & Outreach Coordinator Phone: 401-874-6888 Email: skirby@uri.edu

Think Big We Do

Copyright © 2018 University of Rhode Island.