## AGENDA Revised #1 CELS FACULTY AND PROFESSIONAL STAFF MEETING Tuesday, May 2, 2017 CBLS 100 -- 10AM

- 1) *Call to Order* (Associate Dean Veeger)
- 2) *Approval of the Minutes*: September 6, 2016 CELS Faculty and Professional Staff Meeting (Associate Dean Veeger) See: <u>http://web.uri.edu/celsgov/meetings-minutes/</u>
- 3) *Guest Speaker:* Dr. Gerald Sonnenfeld, Vice President for Research and Economic Development on "Research and Scholarly Activity during the Trump Administration."
- 4) *Guest Speaker:* Ms. Claire Gadrow, Vice President for Development, URI Foundation. "URI's 125th Anniversary Fundraising and Giving Initiative"
- 5) Announcements: (Associate Dean Veeger)
  - a. Report on new faculty joining CELS
  - b. Report on Status of on-going searches
  - c. Update report on faculty positions request to Provost's Office
  - d. CELS Excellence Awards
  - e. Announcement of Faculty and Staff Retirements
  - f. Promotion and Tenure Decisions
  - g. Report on the results of the CELS Fall Senate elections and thanks to outgoing CELS Senators: Todd Guilfoos (ENRE); Brian Maynard (PLE); and Faculty Senate Chair J. Michael Sullivan (PLE)
- 6) *Election of CELS Committee Members:* Official ballots will be distributed, collected, and tallied by members of the Bylaws and Review Committee, and reported by Associate Dean Veeger during the course of the meeting. Sample ballot is attached as Appendix 1

## 7) Reports of Standing Committees:

- a. Curriculum Committee (Chairperson Brian Savage)
- b. Research Committee (Associate Dean Thornber)
- c. Extension and Outreach Committee (Associate Dean Sheely)
- d. Space Committee (Chairperson Christopher Lane)
- e. Commencement Committee (Chairperson Simona Trandafir) See report at: <u>http://web.uri.edu/celsgov/commencement-committee/</u>
- f. Diversity Committee (Michelle Fontes-Barros)
- g. Bylaws and Review Committee (Chairperson)
- 8) Old Business
- 9) New Business
- 10) Awarding of Door Prizes (Judith Palmer)
- 11) Adjournment

## Spring 2017 CELS Election Ballot for seats expiring 2020 unless noted otherwise

*Ballot instructions:* Please vote by selecting or writing in your chosen candidate, fold and pass on to a member of the Bylaws and Review Committee who will be collecting and tallying the votes. Asterisks denote incumbent candidates.

1) URI Graduate Council (vote for one) Scott McWilliams* (NRS) (write in)	
2) CELS Curriculum Committee (vote for two) Alison Roberts* (BIO) Soni Pradhang (GEO) (write-in)	
3) CELS Space Committee (vote for two) Austin Humphries* (FAVS) Christopher Lane* (BIG (write in)	D) Bethany Jenkins (CMB)
4) CELS Research Committee (vote for three)    Niall Howlett* (CMB)  Simon Englehart (GEO)     Jacqueline Webb (BIO)   (write in)	Jason Kolbe (BIO)
5) CELS Commencement Committee (vote for two)#	indidate receiving second highest vote ble for reelection thereafter.
6) CELS Bylaws & Review Committee (vote for one) Jessica Frazier* (MAF)Rachel Schwartz (BIO) (write in)	)
7) URI Senate Curricular Affairs Committee (vote for one) ( replacement for James Opaluch* whose term runs to 2019) W. Michael Sullivan (PLE) (write in)	-
8) URI Senate Committee on Information Technology, Infras Networking (vote for one) Brian Maynard* (PLE) Ying Zhang (CMB) (write-in)	structure, Communications &
9) URI Senate General Education Committee (vote for one) Steven Irvine* (BIO) Nathaniel Mitkowski (write-in)	(PLE)
10) URI Senate Undergraduate Academic Advising Committee    Joanna Norris* (BIO)  Bridget Ruemmele (PL    (write-in)	