AGENDA

CELS FACULTY AND PROFESSIONAL STAFF MEETING

Wednesday May 4, 2022 -- Brunch Begins 8:30am; Meeting Begins 10am CBLS 100

- 1) Call to Order 10:00am (Dean John Kirby)
- 2) Approval of the Agenda
- 3) Approval of the Minutes of the December 16, 2021 CELS Faculty and Professional Staff Meeting text available at: https://web.uri.edu/celsgov/files/CELS-Minutes-2021-12-16-draft.pdf
- 4) Interim Provost Laura Beauvais to discuss Dean Kirby's recent review
- 5) Announcements: (Dean Kirby)
 - a) Report by Dean Kirby
 - 1) CELS News
 - 2) URI Research & Scholarly Excellence Award
 - 3) Longevity awards
 - b) Award for CELS Teaching Excellence
 - c) Award for CELS Research Excellence
 - d) Award for CELS Extension Excellence
 - e) Award for CELS Service Excellence
 - f) Award for CELS Staff Excellence
- 6) Elections (CELS Faculty Secretary Prof. Michael Rice)
 - a) Results of Electronic Election of CELS Senators to URI Faculty Senate
 - 1) Thanks to outgoing Senators Jason Kolbe (BIO), and Laura Meyerson (NRS)
 - 2) Congratulations to new Senators to serve 2022-2025, William Gordon (LAR), Graham Forrester (NRS), and David Bidwell (MAF).
 - 3) CELS will be entering 2022-23 short of one seat in its full complement of Senators
 - b) Election for CELS Committee Seats for to serve 2022-2025. See the Election Slate Presented in *Appendix 1*
- 7) Reports of the Standing Committees
 - a) Diversity Committee (Prof. Dawn Cardace, Interim chair reporting for Prof. Amelia Moore)
 - Report of the special task force with recommendations to improve recruitment strategies and retention practices of underrepresented faculty and graduate students in the college (Prof. Jason Kolbe).
 - b) Curriculum Committee (Prof. Rebecca Brown)
 - c) Research Committee (Prof. Niall Howlett)
 - d) Extension and Outreach Committee (Extension Specialist Kate Venturini)
 - e) Space Committee (Prof. Dawn Cardace)
 - f) Commencement Committee (Prof. Coleen Suckling)
 - g) Bylaws Committee (Prof. Katherine Petersson)

Seconded Motion from Committee on Proposed Bylaws Change:

Old language for deletion:

11.3.2 **Membership**. The Cooperative Extension and Outreach Coordinating Committee shall be composed of two (2) elected faculty or senior staff members actively engaged in Cooperative Extension from different departments, three extramural cooperators, the Cooperative Extension program leaders and the Associate Dean for Outreach who shall serve in an, ex-officio capacity. The extramural members of the committee shall be appointed by the Dean for staggered three-year terms. Faculty member terms will be consistent with the language for the rest of CELS committees per Section 9 of these bylaws.

New language for insertion:

11.3.2 Membership. The Cooperative Extension and Outreach Coordinating Committee shall be composed of two (2) elected faculty or senior staff members actively engaged in Cooperative Extension from different departments, five extramural cooperators, the Cooperative Extension program leaders and the Associate Dean for Cooperative Extension and Agricultural Programs who shall serve in an ex-officio capacity. The full committee (including extramural cooperators) will meet at least two times per year with an agenda solely focused on programmatic priorities. The internal (staff and faculty) members will meet at least two additional times per year to discuss recommendations that are internally focused (e.g. policies, facilities allocation, personnel, etc.). The extramural members of the committee shall be appointed by the Dean for staggered three-year terms. Faculty and staff member terms will be consistent with the language for the rest of CELS committees per Section 9 of these bylaws.

- 7) Old Business
- 8) New Business
- 9) Adjournment

Appendix 1 -- Slate of Candidates for CELS Committees & Offices to Serve 2022 to 2025

- 1) *CELS Curriculum Committee*: Melva Treviño-Peña (MAF); Arnob Dutta (CMB); Katherine Petersson (FAVS) *Also:* Bridget Ruemmele (PLE) to replace Rebecca Brown (PLE) for term ending 2024
- 2) CELS Research Committee: Carlos Prada (BIO); Mark Stolt (NRS)
- 3) CELS Cooperative Extension & Outreach Committee: Elizabeth Herron (NRS)
- 4) CELS Space Committee: Corey Lang (ENRE); Brian Gerber (NRS); Hollie Putnam (BIO)
- 5) CELS Commencement Committee: Coleen Suckling (FAVS)
- 6) CELS Bylaws and Review Committee: Brian Maynard (PLE)
- 7) CELS Faculty Secretary: Michael A. Rice (FAVS)