



Green Hall, 35 Campus Avenue, Kingston, RI 02881 USA

Members

Margo Cook '86, *Chair*Michael D. Fascitelli '78
Charles Fogarty '80
Christine Heenan
Richard S. Humphrey

The University of Rhode Island Board of Trustees Special Meeting Thursday, April 8, 2021 • 2:00 p.m. EDT

Neil Kerwin '73 Matthew Lenz '11 Roby Luna '04 David Martirano '91

PURSUANT TO GOVERNOR McKEE'S EXECUTIVE ORDER, THIS MEETING WAS HELD VIRTUALLY USING THE WEBEX PLATFORM (BOARD MEMBERS ONLY) AND FACEBOOK LIVE (PUBLIC VIEWING).

Michael F. McNally '81, Vice Chair

Dr. Karina Montilla Edmonds '92

Cortney M. Nicolato '01

Vahid Ownjazayeri

Susan Petrovas '92

Yahaira "Jay" Placencia '01

Thomas Ryan '75

Armand E. Sabitoni '73

MINUTES

Chair Margo Cook welcomed Board members to the special meeting. A roll call was taken by Interim General Counsel Peter Harrington, who acknowledged that a quorum was present. The meeting was called to order at 2:03 p.m.

Attendees present for this virtual meeting:

Ex Officio Members

Tim DelGiudice, Chair R.I. Council on Postsecondary Education

Barbara Cottam, Chair R.I. Board of Education

Mayrai Gindy Faculty Representative

Christopher Bove '23 Student Representative The University of Rhode Island Board of Trustees voting members:

- Ms. Margo Cook, Chair
- Mr. Michael F. McNally, Vice Chair
- Dr. Karina Montilla Edmonds
- Mr. Michael Fascitelli
- Honorable Charles J. Fogarty, Jr.
- Ms. Christine M. Heenan
- Mr. Richard Humphrey
- Mr. Cornelius (Neil) Kerwin
- Mr. Matthew D. Lenz
- Mr. Roby Luna
- Mr. David J. Martirano
- Ms. Cortney Nicolato
- Mr. Vahid Ownjazayeri
- Mrs. Susan Petrovas
- Ms. Jay Placencia
- Mr. Thomas M. Ryan

Absent: Mr. Armand E. Sabitoni

The University of Rhode Island Board of Trustees ex officio members:

- Mr. Christopher Bove, Student Representative
- Ms. Barbara Cottam, Chair, Board of Education
- Mr. Tim DelGiudice, Chair, Council on Postsecondary Education
- Dr. Mayrai Gindy, Faculty Representative

The University of Rhode Island Senior Leadership:

- Ms. Anne Marie Coleman, Assistant Vice President for Human Resources
- Ms. Michelle Curreri, Chief of Staff and Board Secretary
- Mr. Peter Harrington, Interim General Counsel

The University of Rhode Island staff members:

- Ms. Robin Cawley, Executive Assistant II
- Ms. Lauren Jensen, Assistant Legal Counsel
- Ms. Lynn Owens, Associate Secretary

1. ACCEPTANCE OF THE AGENDA

Chair Cook called for a motion that the URI Board of Trustees accept the agenda for the meeting of April 8, 2021.

On a motion duly made by Cortney Nicolato and seconded by Jay Placencia, it was

VOTED: THAT The University of Rhode Island Board of Trustees accept

the agenda for the meeting of April 8, 2021.

VOTE: 16 members voted in the affirmative and 0 members

voted in the negative.

YEAS: Margo Cook, Karina Montilla Edmonds, Michael

Fascitelli, Charles Fogarty, Christine Heenan, Richard Humphrey, Neil Kerwin, Matthew Lenz, Roby Luna, David Martirano, Michael McNally, Cortney Nicolato, Vahid Ownjazayeri, Susan Petrovas, Jay Placencia, and

Thomas Ryan.

NAYS: 0

ABSTAINS: 0

2. EXECUTIVE SESSION

The Board of Trustees may seek to enter into executive session for the following item:

a. Discussion regarding the URI Presidential Search finalists, pursuant to R.I.G.L. §42-46-5(a)(1).

Chair Cook stated that the Board will now seek to move into Executive Session for a discussion regarding the URI Presidential Search finalists, pursuant to R.I.G.L. § 42-46-5(a)(1). In accordance with that provision, the affected persons were notified in advance in writing that the Board may be discussing their job performance and character at this meeting and were advised of their right to require that any such discussion be held at an open meeting. As neither finalist had requested that the Board's discussion be held at an open meeting, she called for a motion.

On a motion duly made by Christine Heenan and seconded by Jay Placencia, it was

VOTED: THAT The University of Rhode Island Board of Trustees

convene into Executive Session for a discussion regarding the URI Presidential Search finalists, pursuant to R.I.G.L.

§ 42-46-5(a)(1).

VOTE: 16 members voted in the affirmative and 0 members

voted in the negative.

YEAS: Margo Cook, Karina Montilla Edmonds, Michael

Fascitelli, Charles Fogarty, Christine Heenan, Richard Humphrey, Neil Kerwin, Matthew Lenz, Roby Luna, David Martirano, Michael McNally, Cortney Nicolato, Vahid Ownjazayeri, Susan Petrovas, Jay Placencia, and

Thomas Ryan.

NAYS: 0

ABSTAINS: 0

At 2:10 p.m. the Board entered Executive Session. Virtual public access was paused. The following University staff members were present:

- Ms. Robin Cawley, Executive Assistant II
- Ms. Anne Marie Coleman, Assistant Vice President for Human Resources
- Ms. Michelle Curreri, Chief of Staff and Board Secretary
- Mr. Peter Harrington, Interim General Counsel
- Ms. Lauren Jensen, Assistant Legal Counsel
- Ms. Lynn Owens, Associate Secretary

At 3:27 p.m. the Board returned to Open Session. Virtual public access resumed.

Chair Cook called for a motion that the University of Rhode Island Board of Trustees seal the minutes of the Executive Session that took place on April 8, 2021.

On a motion duly made by Michael Fascitelli and seconded by Neil Kerwin, it was

VOTED THAT: The University of Rhode Island Board of Trustees seal the

minutes of the Executive Session that took place on

April 8, 2021.

VOTE: 14 members voted in the affirmative and 0 members voted

in the negative.

YEAS: Margo Cook, Michael Fascitelli, Charles Fogarty,

Richard Humphrey, Neil Kerwin, Matthew Lenz, Roby Luna, David Martirano, Michael McNally, Cortney Nicolato, Vahid Ownjazayeri, Susan Petrovas, Jay

Placencia, and Thomas Ryan.

NAYS: 0

ABSTAINS: 0

Karina Montilla Edmonds and Christine Heenan were not present for

the vote.

3. ADJOURN

Chair Cook called for a motion that the URI Board of Trustees adjourn the meeting.

On a motion duly made by Neil Kerwin and seconded by Cortney Nicolato, it was

VOTED THAT: The University of Rhode Island Board of Trustees adjourn

the meeting.

VOTE: 14 members voted in the affirmative and 0 members voted

in the negative.

YEAS: Margo Cook, Michael Fascitelli, Charles Fogarty,

Richard Humphrey, Neil Kerwin, Matthew Lenz,

Roby Luna, David Martirano, Michael McNally, Cortney

Nicolato, Vahid Ownjazayeri, Susan Petrovas, Jay

Placencia, and Thomas Ryan.

URI Board of Trustees April 8, 2021 Special Meeting

NAYS: 0

ABSTAINS: 0

Karina Montilla Edmonds and Christine Heenan were not present for the vote.

At 3:28 p.m. this meeting ended.

The next regular meeting of the URI Board of Trustees is scheduled for April 23, 2021.