President's Commission on Equity and Inclusion of for People with Disabilities

Minutes

November 4, 2013 10-11:30 a.m. Memorial Union 300, Student Senate Chambers

In Attendance: Meridith Clark, Annette Bourbonniere, Joannah Portman-Daley, Tamara Bolotow, Joanne Lynch, Meada Daly-Cano, Christine Sullivan, Susan Roush, (inabsentia Laura Kenerson), Nancy Doyle-Moss, Pamela Rohland, Michael Sullivan, Kerri Hicks, Mary Jane Klinkhammer, Bridget Ruemmele

- 1) Introductions were made.
- 2) Motion was made, seconded, and carried to approve the Minutes from 10/7/2013.
- 3) Today's work of the Commission:
 - a) University Manual Language was discussed and adopted. In particular, it was moved, seconded, and carried that the name of the group would be designated as "President's Commission on Equity and Inclusion for People with Disabilities."
 - b) It was moved, seconded and approved unanimously that the 2nd goal would read as "Identify major topics of concern for the entire community of people with disabilities" and that the goal would not include reference to any particular sub-group of people with disabilities.
 - c) Co-chairs and leadership positions were discussed and chosen:
 - i) Motion was made, seconded, and carried that there would be one faculty and one staff co-chair for the duration of the Commission.
 - ii) Motion was made, seconded, and carried that two year terms of the co-chairs would be staggered so that there would always be one continuing co-chair.
 - iii) Motion was made, seconded, and carried that there would be a Student Advisor to the Co-Chairs with a one-year appointment each year.
 - iv) Motion was made, seconded, and carried that Bridget Ruemmele would be the first faculty co-chair for a two-year term.
 - v) Motion was made, seconded, and carried that Pamela Rohland would be the first staff co-chair for a one-year term to facilitate the staggering of co-chair terms. Discussion included Kerri Hicks as a potential first full-term staff co-chair succeeding Pamela Rohland. A full-term Staff Co-chair would be determined by vote of the commission members in one year.
 - vi) Motion was made, seconded, and carried that the Student Advisor to the Co-Chairs would be Annette Bourbonniere for a term of one year.
 - d) Determine a schedule of future meetings at which we will
 - (1) The next meeting will be either December 9 or 10, 2013 Meeting Wizard query will be sent to the entire group.

- (2) Determination of priority for commission goals will be discussed at the next meeting in December.
- (3) Pamela and Bridgett will work to contact all interested parties to ensure their continued interest in being recommended for membership and for letters of appointment. All those present today confirmed their interest in being appointed.
- (4) Future discussions to develop by-laws will determine membership categories, term limits, length of terms, CY or AY appointment terms, appointing a subcommittee for by-laws, etc.
- (5) The question was raised about whether state open-meeting laws applied to the University of Rhode Island President's Commissions; it was discussed that these commissions are internal university groups, not subject to open meeting laws. Mike Sullivan suggested that we obtain an opinion from university Legal Counsel.
- 4) Motion was made, seconded, and carried to adjourn the meeting. The next meeting will be either December 9 or 10, 2013 depending on Meeting Wizard query.

Respectfully submitted by Pamela Rohland and Bridget Ruemmele. Edited 12/9/13.