Report of the Faculty Senate Technology and Infrastructure Committee, October 14, 2019

Since the start of the academic year the Technology and infrastructure Committee has met on September 5 and October 10. Most of our first meeting was dedicated to a wide-ranging discussion with Karlis Kaugars, the University's Chief Information Officer. We discussed a number of ongoing and planned initiatives of his office. We hope that the CIO will be a frequent guest at our meetings this year.

Most of our second meeting was spent with Sean Krueger, who is overseeing for the Provost's Office the implementation of the Faculty 180 module of Interfolio. Faculty already are using the RPT (Review, Promotion, and Tenure) module of Interfolio. The new module will be used for faculty activity reporting by individual faculty and by administrators at several levels. Harrison Dekker, who is a member of the Technology and Infrastructure Committee, is also a member of a stakeholders group which is advising Sean on the implementation of Faculty 180. We expect to meet with Sean again later in the academic year. The timetable for the implementation of Faculty 180 is still imprecise, but it will stretch into the 2020-21 academic year.

The chair of the Technology and Infrastructure Committee, Michael Honhart, is a member of the Information Technology Strategic Governance Committee (ITGov). He also has begun to participate in the deliberations of the Faculty Senate ad hoc committee which is looking into the purchase of a Curricular Management System (CMS). That project is being led by Audrey Cardany, chair of the Curriculum and Standards Committee.

The Technology and Infrastructure Committee will be following up this year on recommendations which it presented at the May 2, 2019 meeting of the Faculty Senate. The report is available online at <a href="https://web.uri.edu/facsen/files/5d.-TechCommittee-Report-4-26-2019.pdf">https://web.uri.edu/facsen/files/5d.-TechCommittee-Report-4-26-2019.pdf</a>. At the May 2, 2019 meeting the Faculty Senate voted to refer the recommendations in the committee report to the Constitution, By-Laws, and University Manual Committee.

We are aware that the University is engaged this year in the purchase or implementation of several major new software products which faculty will be using. We will do our best to stay informed about these initiatives.

Members of the Technology and Infrastructure Committee:

Ben Anderson (ART) Harrison Dekker (LIB) Michael Honhart (HIS), chair Dana Kovarsky (CMD) Lenore Martin (CMB) Christine Mok (ENG)