



UNIVERSITY OF RHODE ISLAND FACULTY SENATE

The Faculty Senate Executive Committee recommends that the Faculty Senate approve the formation of an Ad Hoc Committee to address Faculty Senate membership and faculty voting rights on matters requiring Faculty Senate approval.

The charge to the committee will be to

- 1. Review the current language in the University Manual regarding Senate membership eligibility and criteria and make recommendations for changes to the Executive Committee. Changes may include expanding membership to full-time, nontenure track faculty.
- 2. Review the current language in the University Manual regarding faculty voting rights and make recommendations for changes to the Executive Committee. Changes may include expanding faculty voting rights at the department and college level to full-time, non-tenure track faculty.
- 3. Clearly define the role of tenure-track faculty in the governance of the University by reviewing the meaning and intent of "continuing faculty" in the University Manual and, if necessary, recommend changes for clarification and consistency.

Proposed Committee Membership:

- 1. Laura Beauvais, Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs
- 2. Ruitang Deng, Senator and Associate Professor of Biomedical & Pharmaceutical Sciences
- 3. Debra Erickson-Owens, Senator and Assistant Professor of Nursing
- 4. W. Michael Sullivan, Senator and Professor of Plant Sciences
- 5. Fritz Wenisch, Professor of Philosophy