



UNIVERSITY OF RHODE ISLAND FACULTY SENATE

Proposed New Standing Senate Committee:

Committee on Information Technologies, Infrastructure, Computing, Communications, and Networking (CITICCN)

4.85 Committee on Information Technologies, Infrastructure, Computing, Communications, and Networking (CITICCN). This committee shall contribute to the development and maintenance of the strategic plan in collaboration with Information Technology Services and review and make policy recommendations regarding the implications on academic and research planning, standards, services, physical facilities, and allocation of resources on all matters pertaining to information technology, infrastructure, computing, communications, and networking.

4.86 The committee shall be comprised of, one faculty representative each from the colleges of Arts and Sciences Business Administration, Engineering, Human Science and Services, Nursing, Pharmacy, the Environment and Life Sciences, and the University Library; a representative of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs; the Associate Dean of the Alan Shawn Feinstein College of Continuing Education or designee, and two representatives of the student body appointed by the Student Senate and the Graduate Student Association. The Chief Information Officer shall serve as an ex officio member the committee. Representatives of the colleges and schools shall be selected for their knowledge of information technologies and their experience in research and teaching using technology. The faculty members shall be chosen by the Chairperson of the Senate and confirmed by the Senate in the same way as other standing committees of the Senate, except that they shall be named from a list of nominees provided for each vacancy by the faculty of the college or school being represented who shall nominate them in a manner to be determined by each college or school faculty.

4.87 The Chairperson shall be appointed by the Chairperson of the Senate and approved by Senate. The term of the Chairperson shall be for two (2) years. Terms of faculty members shall be for three (3) years, appointed on a staggered basis. Terms of student members shall be for one year. Members may be appointed to no more than two consecutive terms. A faculty member may be eligible for re-appointment after a one year hiatus.

4.88 This committee shall meet at least once each semester and shall prepare an annual report to the Faculty Senate including review of current facilities, policies, and practices as well as recommendations for future improvements.