People

All Faculty and Staff

Our faculty win some of the most competitive grants and awards in their fields.

Jump to:

Chemical Engineering

Professor and Department Chair

Chemical Engineering

401.874.9518
gbothun@uri.edu
website

Assistant Professor

Chemical Engineering

401.874.6885
iandreu@uri.edu

Distinguished Engineering Professor

Chemical Engineering

401.874.2804
bosea@uri.edu
website

Associate Professor

Chemical Engineering

401.874.9289
greenfield@uri.edu

Distinguished Engineering Professor

Chemical Engineering

401.874.2085
ogregory@uri.edu
website

Assistant Teaching Professor

Chemical Engineering

darko.ljubic@uri.edu

Chester H. Kirk Professor

Chemical Engineering

401.874.2814
alucia@uri.edu

Associate Professor

Chemical Engineering

401.874.4303
smeenach@uri.edu
website

Associate Professor

Chemical Engineering / Biomedical and Pharmaceutical Sciences

401.874.4914
jmenon@uri.edu
website

Assistant Professor

Chemical Engineering

ryanps@uri.edu
website

Associate Professor and Graduate Director

Chemical Engineering

401.874.2678
roxbury@uri.edu
website

Civil and Environmental Engineering

Associate Professor and Department Chair

Civil and Environmental Engineering

401.874.2693
lt@uri.edu

Associate Professor and Graduate Director

Civil and Environmental Engineering

401.874.7050
akanda@uri.edu
website

Assistant Professor

Civil and Environmental Engineering / Ocean Engineering

401.874.6625
mehrshad.amini@uri.edu

Professor

Civil & Environmental Engineering and Ocean Engineering

401.874.6575
cbaxter@uri.edu

Professor (Courtesy Appointment)

Civil and Environmental Engineering and Geosciences

401.874.7053
tboving@uri.edu

Professor

Civil & Environmental Engineering

401.874.2680
abrads@uri.edu

Associate Professor

Civil and Environmental Engineering

401.874.5637
sumanta_das@uri.edu
website

Associate Dean for Academic and Faculty Affairs, Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering

Civil and Environmental Engineering

401.874.5587
mayraig@uri.edu
website

Associate Professor

Civil and Environmental Engineering

401.874.2889
goodwill@uri.edu
website

Associate Professor

Civil and Environmental Engineering

401.874.2818
cdhunter@uri.edu

Professor

Civil and Environmental Engineering

401.874.2695
leekw@uri.edu
website

Professor & Associate Dean of Research

Civil and Environmental Engineering

401.874.2784
craver@uri.edu
website

President, University of Rhode Island, Professor, Mechanical, Ocean, and Civil Engineering

401.874.2222
lharrison@uri.edu
website

Associate Teaching Professor

Civil and Environmental Engineering / Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

nara7@uri.edu

Associate Professor

Civil and Environmental Engineering

401.874.9353
thomas@uri.edu

Professor

Civil and Environmental Engineering

401.874.5117
gt@uri.edu
website

Electrical, Computer, and Biomedical Engineering

Assistant Professor

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

401.874.4102
reza_abiri@uri.edu
website

Assistant Professor

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

401.874.2752
kadhikari@uri.edu
website

Professor

Electrical, Computer & Biomedical Engineering

401.874.4738
besio@uri.edu
website

Assistant Professor

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

401.874.5846
yu_bi@uri.edu
website

Robert Haas Endowed Professor

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

401.874.5645
haibohe@uri.edu
website

Assistant Professor

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

401.874.2671
yjeong@uri.edu
website

Assistant Professor

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

401.874.5849
weiwei.jia@uri.edu
website

Assistant Professor

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

401.874.5431
sungho.kim@uri.edu
website

Professor

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

401.874.4798
kumaresan2@uri.edu

Assistant Professor

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

401.874.2643
huilin@uri.edu
website

Professor

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

401.874.2996
jclce@uri.edu

Associate Professor

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

401.874.5661
kunalm@uri.edu
website

Professor and Graduate Director

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

401.874.9423
sendag@uri.edu

Associate Professor

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

401.874.5368
yalda_shahriari@uri.edu
website

Assistant Teaching Professor

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

xiaowei.shang@uri.edu

Assistant Teaching Professor

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

401.874.9287
dhaval_solanki@uri.edu

Assistant Professor

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

401.874.5814
pstegagno@uri.edu

Professor

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

401.874.5859
harishsunak@uri.edu
website

Professor and Department Chair

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

401.874.5803
yansun@uri.edu
website

Professor

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

401.874.5802
swaszek@uri.edu

Professor

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

401.874.5816
vaccaro@uri.edu

Associate Professor

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

401.874.5141
fvetter@uri.edu

Professor

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

401.874.2874
tao_wei@uri.edu
website

Distinguished Engineering Professor

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

401.874.5880
qyang@uri.edu
website

International Engineering Program

Executive Director & Director of the Chinese and German IEPs & Professor of German

International Engineering Program

401.874.4700
sigrid_berka@uri.edu

Director of the French IEP

International Engineering Program

401.874.4702
lars@uri.edu

Associate Director for Business and Administration, IEP

International Engineering Program

401.874.4926
agraney@uri.edu

Director of the Italian IEP

International Engineering Program

401.874.5968
laluna@uri.edu

Director of the Spanish IEP, Lecturer of Spanish

International Engineering Program

adriana_wright@uri.edu

Coordinator, IEP

International Engineering Program

401.874.4712
schenckm@uri.edu

Director of the Japanese IEP

International Engineering Program

401.874.2790
takasawa@uri.edu

Co-Director of the German IEP, Associate Professor of German

International Engineering Program

401.874.2361
tracksdorf@uri.edu

Mechanical, Industrial, and Systems Engineering

Dean, URI College of Engineering, Professor, Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

401.874.2186
marchese@uri.edu

Assistant Teaching Professor

Mechanical, Industrial, and Systems Engineering

401.874.9292
andrew.borme@uri.edu

Professor

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

401.874.2356
chelidze@uri.edu
website

Professor

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

401.874.2514
pdatseris@uri.edu

Professor

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

401.874.5180
faghrim@uri.edu

Distinguished Engineering Professor

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

401.874.2909
ghonem@uri.edu
website

Assistant Professor

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

401.874.4248
ashgiri@uri.edu
website

Professor

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

401.874.2349
jouaneh@uri.edu

Assistant Professor

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

401.874.4249
yanglin@uri.edu
website

Associate Professor

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

401.874.2243
macht@uri.edu
website

Associate Professor

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

401.874.5187
valerie@uri.edu

Assistant Professor

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

401.874.4556
hmatos@uri.edu

Distinguished University Professor

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

401.874.9335
bn@uri.edu

President, University of Rhode Island, Professor, Mechanical, Ocean, and Civil Engineering

401.874.2222
lharrison@uri.edu
website

Associate Teaching Professor

Civil and Environmental Engineering / Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

nara7@uri.edu

Professor and Department Chair

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

401.874.2542
rousseau@uri.edu

Simon Ostrach Professor

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

401.874.2283
shuklaa@uri.edu
website

Professor

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

401.874.5189
sodhi@uri.edu

Professor

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

401.874.5934
taggart@uri.edu

Professor

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

401.874.5195
jhwang@uri.edu

Assistant Teaching Professor

Mechanical, Industrial, and Systems Engineering

401.874.2548
mwestner@uri.edu

Associate Professor and Graduate Director

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

401.874.9067
cyuan@uri.edu

Professor

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

401.874.2517
zhang@uri.edu

Ocean Engineering

Professor and Department Chair

Ocean Engineering

401.874.6540
miller@uri.edu

Assistant Professor

Civil and Environmental Engineering / Ocean Engineering

401.874.6625
mehrshad.amini@uri.edu

Professor

Ocean Engineering and Oceanography

401.874.6480
rballard@uri.edu
website

Professor

Civil & Environmental Engineering and Ocean Engineering

401.874.6575
cbaxter@uri.edu

Assistant Professor

Ocean Engineering

401.874.6617
chewei.chang@uri.edu
website

Associate Professor

Ocean Engineering

401.874.6122
jmdahl@uri.edu

Professor Research

Ocean Engineering

401.874.6029
annette_grilli@uri.edu

Distinguished Engineering Professor

Ocean Engineering

401.874.6636
grilli@uri.edu

Associate Professor

Ocean Engineering

401.874.6217
reza_hashemi@uri.edu

Assistant Professor

Ocean Engineering

401.874.6619
bradford.knight@uri.edu

Associate Professor and Graduate Director

Ocean Engineering

401.874.6028
slicht@uri.edu
website

Associate Professor

Ocean Engineering (limited) and Oceanography

401.874.6676
bloose@uri.edu

Assistant Professor

Ocean Engineering (limited) and Oceanography

401.874.6610
momand@uri.edu

President, University of Rhode Island, Professor, Mechanical, Ocean, and Civil Engineering

401.874.2222
lharrison@uri.edu
website

Associate Professor

Ocean Engineering

401.874.6035
brennanphillips@uri.edu
website

Professor Research

Ocean Engineering

401.874.6591
gpotty@uri.edu

Professor

Ocean Engineering (limited) and Oceanography

401.874.6115
croman2@uri.edu

Associate Professor

Ocean Engineering

401.874.6879
loravu@uri.edu
website

Assistant Professor

Ocean Engineering (limited) and Oceanography

401.874.6633
mzhou@uri.edu

Part Time Faculty

Phillip Ainsleigh

Adjunct Professor

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

phillip.ainsleigh@navy.mil

Constantine Anagnostopoulos

Adjunct Professor

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

401.874.2524
anagnostopoulos@uri.edu

Julien Bonnel

Julien Bonnel

Adjunct Professor

Ocean Engineering

jbonnel@whoi.edu

Brinton, Alan, 2021

Alan Brinton

Instructor

Chemical Engineering

401.623.1577
alanbrinton@uri.edu

Eugene Chabot

Adjunct Professor

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

eugene@uri.edu

Jason Chaytor

Adjunct Faculty

Ocean Engineering

Crocker, Steven, 2021

Steven Crocker

Adjunct Professor

Ocean Engineering

steven_crocker@uri.edu

Georges Dossot

Georges Dossot

Adjunct Professor

Ocean Engineering

georges.dossot@gmail.com

Cameron Goodwin

Adjunct Professor

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

401.874.9437
cgoodwin@rinsc.ri.gov

Gerald Hefferman

Gerald Hefferman

Adjunct Professor

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

ghefferm@gmail.com

Jordan, Stephen, 2021

Stephen Jordan

Adjunct Professor

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

idocfd@uri.edu

James M. Leblanc

Adjunct Professor

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

401.524.9457
JLEBL49724@Yahoo.com

Ying-Tsong Lin

Ying-Tsong Lin

Adjunct Professor

Ocean Engineering

ytlin@ucsd.edu

Vin Marseglia

Vincent A. Marseglia

Instructor

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

vinmarseglia@gmail.com

Brian Silver

Brian Silver

Adjunct Professor

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

Brian.Silver@umassmemorial.org

Thomas Spengler

Thomas Spengler

Adjunct Professor

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

t.spengler@tu-braunschweig.de

James Vogel

James Vogel

Instructor

Chemical Engineering

jvogel@uri.edu

Matthew Cabral

Director, Nanotechnology Laboratory

Chemical Engineering

(401) 874-6885
matthew.cabral@uri.edu

Thomas Wettergren

Adjunct Professor

Mechanical, Industrial & Systems Engineering

+1.401.874.2524
twettergren@uri.edu

Faculty Emeriti

Stanley M. Barnett

Professor Emeritus

Chemical Engineering

sbarnett@uri.edu

G. Faye Boudreaux-Bartels

Professor Emerita

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

401.874.5805
boudreaux@uri.edu

Richard Brown

Richard Brown

Professor

Chemical Engineering

401.874.2707
richardbrown@uri.edu
website

Everett E. Crisman

Research Professor Emeritus

Chemical Engineering

401.874.5143
crisman@uri.edu

James C. Daly

Professor Emeritus

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

401.874.5844
jimdaly@uri.edu

Peter Dewhurst

Professor Emeritus

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

401.874.5194
pdewhurst@uri.edu

Godi Fischer

Professor

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

401.874.5879
fischer@uri.edu

Donald J. Gray

Professor Emeritus

Chemical Engineering

gray@uri.edu

Leland B. Jackson

Professor Emeritus

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

401.874.2506
leland_jackson@uri.edu

Steven M. Kay

Professor Emeritus

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

401.874.5804
skayy@uri.edu
website

Thomas J. Kim

Dean Emeritus

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

401.874.5991
tomkim@uri.edu

Harold N. Knickle

Professor Emeritus

Chemical Engineering

knickleh@uri.edu

Winston A. Knight

Professor Emeritus

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

401.874.2524
wknight@uri.edu

Gabriel Lengyel

Professor Emeritus

Electrical, Computer & Biomedical Engineering

+1.401.874.2506
gvlengyel@cox.net

D.M.L. Meyer

Associate Professor Emerita

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

dmmeyer@uri.edu
website

William Ohley

William J. Ohley

Professor Emeritus

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

401.874.5813
ohley@uri.edu

William J. Palm III

Professor Emeritus

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

401.874.2531
wpalm@uri.edu

Mercedes Rivero-Hudec

Mercedes A. Rivero-Hudec

Associate Professor Emerita

Chemical Engineering

401.874.2271
mrivero@uri.edu

Martin H. Sadd

Professor Emeritus

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

401.874.2524
saddm@uri.edu

Armand Silva

Professor Emeritus

Civil and Environmental Engineering, Ocean Engineering

Malcolm Spaulding, P.E.

Professor Emeritus

Ocean Engineering

401.874.6139
spaulding@uri.edu

Peter Stepanishen

Professor Emeritus

Ocean Engineering

401.874.6139
steppipr@uri.edu

Robert Tyce

Professor Emeritus

Ocean Engineering

401.874.6139
robtyce@uri.edu

Augustus K. Uht P.E.

Professor in Residence

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

401.874.5431
gusuht@uri.edu

Daniel W. Urish, P.E

Professor Emeritus

Civil and Environmental Engineering

401.874.2692
harbourrose@cox.net

Raymond M. Wright, P.E.

Dean Emeritus

401.874.2186
dean@egr.uri.edu

Administrative & Research Grant Assistants

Amber Fearn

Scientific Research Grant Assistant

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

afearn@uri.edu

Katherine Corey

Higher Education Administrative Assistant II

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

401.874.2506
katherine.corey@uri.edu

Bergwall, Michaela, 2021

Michaela Bergwall

Higher Education Administrative Assistant II

401.874.2505
mlbergs@uri.edu

Deborah Brielmaier

Deborah Brielmaier

Fiscal Clerk

Chemical Engineering

401.874.2655
dbrielmaier@uri.edu

Fan, Maria, 2021

Maria Fan

Fiscal Clerk

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

401.874.2524
mariafan@uri.edu

Kristin Maher

Scientific Research Grant Assistant

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

401.874.4924
kristin.maher@uri.edu

Nicole Larkin

Administrative Assistant, Scientific Research Grant Assistant

Ocean Engineering

nicole.larkin@uri.edu

Sharon Pierce

Fiscal Clerk

sharon_pierce@uri.edu

Claudia Prior

Claudia Prior

Administrative Assistant

Chemical Engineering

401.874.2656
claudia.prior@uri.edu

Santucci, Nancy, 2021

Nancy Santucci

Fiscal Clerk

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

401.874.2525
nsantucci@uri.edu

Molly Sullivan

Higher Education Administrative Assistant II

Civil and Environmental Engineering

401.874.2692
molly_sullivan@uri.edu

Technicians

Kevin Broccolo

Tech Staff Assistant

401.874.5387
kebbrock@uri.edu

Byrnes, Jim, 2021

James Byrnes

Tech III

401.874.5884
byrnes@uri.edu

D'Ambrosca, Robert, 2021

Robert D’Ambrosca

Lab Tech II

Chemical Engineering

401.874.2748
dambrosca@uri.edu

David Ferreira

David Ferreira

Tech III

401.874.5197
david_ferreira@uri.edu

James Frost

Tech Staff Assistant

Ocean Engineering

james_frost@uri.edu

Mike Johnson

Mike Johnson

Tech I

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

401.874.5887
mgjohnson@uri.edu

Pease, Fred, 2021

Fred Pease

Boat Captain

401.874.6242
fredpease@uri.edu

Platek, Michael, 2021

Michael Platek

Electrical Materials Engineer

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

401.874.5828
mplatek@uri.edu

Reyes, Joseph, 2021

Joseph Reyes

Tech I

401.874.5610
joseph_reyes@uri.edu

Simoneau, Will, 2021

Willard Simoneau

Computer Engineer

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

401.874.5899
simoneau@ele.uri.edu