Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the University’s governing body.

The board is a public corporation that appoints and reviews the president. The board is also responsible for establishing performance goals for the president and the University. Further, the board is responsible for the buildings, employees, and property of the University. The board also approves the budget, the awarding of degrees, and the awarding of tenure to faculty.


The board consists of 17 members appointed by the governor in consultation with the University president, and with the consent of the Senate. Additionally, the University president appoints one full time student and one faculty member to serve on the board as non-voting members. The University president, the chair of the Council on Postsecondary Education, and the chair of the Rhode Island Board of Education also serve in an ex officio capacity.

Next Meeting

Date: Thursday, June 29, 2023