Multicultural Center

74 Lower College Road, Kingston, RI 02881

mcc1@etal.uri.edu – 401.874.2851

URI
Think Big, We Do.
Rhode Island Seal

Contact:

Multicultural Center
74 Lower College Road Kingston, RI 02881

Phone: 401-874-2851
Fax: 401-874-5952
E-mail:
mcc1@etal.uri.edu

Follow us on TwitterVisit our Facebook pageSubscribe to our Youtube channel!

Diversity on the Web: African American Resources

Compiled by Jametoria Burton, Jayati Chaudhuri,
and Donna L. Gilton

Links, Web Rings, Portals, Gateways, and Webliographies

 

1. Africana.com Home. http://africana.com/
2. African American Web Connection. http://www.aawc.com/aawc0.html
3. Baltimore County Public Library. African American Information Center. http://www.bcplonline.org/centers/aacenter/
4. Black History Links – Providence, RI. http://www.providenceri.com/RI_BlackHeritage/links.html
5. Cushcity.com. http://www.cushcity.com
6. Everything Black.com. http://www.everythingblack.com/
9.US Africaonline. http://www.usafricaonline.com/home.html

 

Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs)

 

1. The HBCU Network. http://hbcunetwork.com/ 
2. United Negro College Fund http://www.uncf.org/
3.Clark Atlanta U. http://www.cau.edu/
4. Dillard U. http://www.dillard.edu
5. Florida Agricultural & Mechanical University (FAMU). http://www.famu.edu/
6. Fisk U. http://www.fisk.edu/
7. Hampton U. http://www.hamptonu.edu/
8. Lincoln U. http://www.lincoln.edu
9. Morehouse College http://www.morehouse.edu/
10.Spelman College. http://www.spelman.edu/
11.Tougaloo College http://www.tougaloo.edu/
12.Tuskegee University http://www.tusk.edu/
13.Wilberforce U. http://www.wilberforce.edu
14.Xavier U. (New Orleans) http://www.xula.edu/

Black Studies Programs

 

Professional Associations

1. African and Development Studies. http://www.hanszell.co.uk/index.shtml
2. National Association for Ethnic Studies. http://www.ethnicstudies.org

 

Specific Programs

 

1. Cornell U. The Africana Studies and Research Center. http://www.asrc.cornell.edu
2. Harvard U. W.E.B. DuBois Institute for Afro-American Research. http://www.fas.harvard.edu/~du_bois/
3. Howard U. African Studies. http://www.founders.howard.edu/african/
4. Indiana U. Department of African American and African Diaspora Studies. http://www.indiana.edu/~afroamer/afroamer-home.html
5. Oberlin College. African American Studies Department. http://www.oberlin.edu/~afamstud/
6. U. of Pittsburgh. Africana Studies. http://www.pitt.edu/~bjgrier/bj.htm
7. Providence College. Black Studies. http://www.providence.edu/afro
8. Temple U. African American Studies Department. http://www.temple.edu/AAS/index.htm
9. UCLA. Center for African American Studies. http://www.sscnet.ucla.edu/caas/
10.U. of Rhode Island. African and Afro-American Studies.http://www.uri.edu/artsci/afr/
11.Yale U. African American Studies. http://www.yale.edu/afamstudies/

Think Tanks

 

1. The Association for the Study of African-American Life and History (ASALH). http://www.asalh.com
2. Fisk U. Race Relations Institute. http://www.fisk.edu/index.asp?cat=24
3. Harvard U. W.E.B. DuBois Institute for Afro-American Research. http://web-dubois.fas.harvard.edu/
4. Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies http://www.jointcenter.org/
5. The Martin Luther King Center for Nonviolence and Social Change. http://www.thekingcenter.org
6. Transafrica.http://www.transafricaforum.org/
7. U. of Massachusetts, Boston. Monroe Trotter Institute. http://www.trotter.umb.edu/

 

Museums and Exhibits

 

1. The African American Mosaic Exhibition (LC). http://www.loc.gov/exhibits/african/intro.html
2. African American Museum in Philadelphia. http://www.aampmuseum.org/aamp.html
3. Anacostia Museum Homepage. http://anacostia.si.edu/
4. Black Cultural Centre of Nova Scotia. http://www.bccns.com/
5. DuSable Museum of African American History. (Chicago, IL) http://www.dusablemuseum.org/
6. Eyes of Glory.com. http://www.eyesofglory.com/
7. The Martin Luther King Center for Nonviolent Social Change. http://thekingcenter.org
8. The Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic Site’s Online Visitor Information Center. http://www.nps.gov/malu/frames/frames.htm 
9. Museum of African American History (Detroit, MI) 
10.Museum of Afro American History (Boston, MA) http://www.afroammuseum.org/
11.National Afro-American Museum (Wilberforce, OH) http://www.ohiohistory.org/places/afroam/
12.National Civil Rights Museum. (Memphis, TN) http://www.mecca.org/~crights/
13.The Rhode Island Black Heritage Society. http://www.providenceri.com/RI_BlackHeritage/

Specialized Libraries and Collections

 

1. Atlanta-Fulton Public Library System. Auburn Ave. Research Library on African American Culture and History. http://www.af.public.lib.ga.us/aarl
2. Chicago Public Library. Carter G. Woodson Regional Library. The Vivian G. Harsh Research Collection of Afro-American History and Culture. http://www.chipublib.org/002branches/woodson/wnharsh.html
3. Clark Atlanta U. Robert W. Woodruff Library. http://www.auctr.edu/
4. Cornell U. John Henrik Clarke Africana Library. http://www.library.cornell.edu/africana/Library/Africana_Library.html
5. Duke U. John Hope Franklin Collection. http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/franklin/
6. Fisk U. http://www.fisk.edu/index.asp?cat=7&pid=257
7. Howard U. Libraries. http://www.howard.edu/library/-
8. Howard U. Libraries. Moorland-Spingarn Collection. http://www.founders.howard.edu/moorland-spingarn/
9. New York Public Library. Schomberg Center for Research in Black Culture. http://www.nypl.org/research/sc/sc.html
10.Temple U. Blockson Afro-American Collection. http://www.library.temple.edu/blockson/
11.Tulane U. Amistad Research Center. http://www.tulane.edu/~amistad
12.U. of Pittsburgh. Hillman Library. Afro-American Collection.http://www.library.pitt.edu/libraries/african-american/african-american.html

 

Bookstores and Clubs

 

1. African American Literature Book Club (AALBC) http://www.aalbc.com/
2. African (Online) Store. Webmaster@over2u.com
3. Black Books Galore. (juvenile literature) http://www.blackbooksgalore.com/ or http://www.bbg.@blackbooksgalore.com
4. Cushcity.com. http://cushcity.com/browse.htm
5. G.R.I.T.S. Kidz. http://www.gritskidz.com/
6. Mosaicbooks.com. http://www.mosaicbooks.com
7. Multicultural Kids http://www.multiculturalkids.com/.
8. Destiny Image Catalog Store http://cgi.reapernet.com/catalog/
9. Shrine of the Black Madonna Bookstore and Cultural Center. http://www.shrinebookstore.com/

 

Book Reviews and Literary Sources

 

1. Authors on Tour. http://www.authorsontour.com/
2. Black Issues Book Reviews. http://www.bibookreview.com
3. Black Literature.com. http://www.blackliterature.com/
4. Pentouch Literary http://www.pentouch.com/pl/
5. Callaloo. http://muse.jhu.edu/journals/callaloo/
6. QBRonline: The Quarterly Review of Black Books. http://www.qbr.com

 

 

Publishers

 

1. Amber Publishing. http://www.AMBERBOOKS.COM
2. Black Butterfly Press. http://www.maxinethompson.com/main.html
3. Black Classic Press. http://www.blackclassic.com/
4. R.H. Boyd Publishing Company. (National Baptist Publishing Board). http://www.rhboydpublishing.com/
5. Howard U. Press. http://www.founders.howard.edu/hupress
6. Johnson Publishing. http://www.jpcolorado.com/

 

 

Newspapers

 

1. African American News and Issues. http://www.blacknewsonline.com
2. Atlanta Tribune. http://www.atlantatribune.com/
3. Bay State Banner. http://baystatebanner.com/
4. Capital Outlook.http://www.capitaloutlook.com
5. The Central Florida Advocate. http://www.cfadvocate.com/adv01.asp
6. The Challenger Newspaper. http://www.challengernews.com/newspaper/newspaper.html 
7. The Charlotte Post. http://www.siobhanenvisions.com/charlottepost/
8.Dallas Examiner. http://www.dallasexaminer.com/
9.Exodus Newsmagazine. http://www.exodusnews.com/
10.The Indianapolis Recorder. http://www.indianapolisrecorder.com/
11.Insight News. http://www.insightnews.com/
12.Michigan Bulletin Community. http://members.aol.com/mibulletin/online.html
13.Michigan Citizen. http://www.michigancitizen.com/
14.Monroe Free Press. http://news.mywebpal.com/index.cfm?pnpid=352
15.The National Black Family Empowerment Agenda. http://www.nbfea.com/
16. Philadelphia Tribune. http://www.phila-tribune.com/
17. Pure-News USA. http://www.pure-news-usa.com/
18.The Skanner Online. http://www.theskanner.com/

 

 

Popular Magazines

 

1. American Legacy. http://www.americanheritage.com/amlegacy/
2. Ebony Magazine. http://ebony.com
3. Essence Magazine. http://www.essence.com/essence/
4. Jet Magazine. http://www.jetmag.com/
5. Savoy Magazine. http://www.savoymag.com

 

Professional Periodicals

 

1. The Black Collegian Online. http://www.blackcollegian.com/
2. Black Enterprise. http://blackenterprise.com
3. Black Issues in Higher Education. http://www.blackissues.com/

 

 

Scholarly Journals

 

1. Black Journalism Review Online. http://www.blackjournalism.com/
2. Black Scholar. http://www.theblackscholar.org/
3. Crisis. http://www.thecrisismagazine.com/index.html
4. Journal of Black Studies. http://www.sagepub.co.uk - Go to journal index and then to the Journal of Black Studies.
5. The Journal of Blacks in Higher Education. http://www.jbhe.com/
6. Journal of Negro Education. http://www.jstor.org/journals/00222984.html
7. Journal of Negro History. http://www.jstor.org/journals/00222992.html
8. Review of Black Political Economy. http://taddeo.ingentaselect.com/vl=2343432/cl=13/nw=1/rpsv/catchword/tranpub/00346446/contp1.htm
9. The Western Journal of Black Studies. http://www.wsu.edu/~wjbs

 

Radio and Television

 

1. Black Entertainment Television. (BET) http://www.bet.com/
2. Tom Joyner. http://www.tomjoyner.com

 

 

Organizations

 

1. Children’s Defense Fund. http://www.childrensdefense.org
2. National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP). http://www.naacp.org/
3. National Urban League. http://www.nul.org
4. 100 Black Man. http://www.100blackmen.org
5. Rainbow PUSH Coalition. http://www.rainbowpush.org
6. Southern Christian Leadership Conference. http://www.sclcnational.org/
7. Southern Poverty Law Center. http://www.splcenter.org

 

Religious Bodies

 

Christian

1. Congress of National Black Churches. http://www.cnbc.org
2. The African Methodist Episcopal Church. (AMEC). http://www.ame-today.com/
3. The African Methodist Episcopal Church Zion (AMEZ). http://www.theamezionchurch.org/ (currently under construction)
4. Christian Methodist Episcopal Church. (CME) http://www.cmesonline.org/
5. Church of God in Christ. http://www.cogic.org/
6. National Baptist Convention, USA, Inc. http://www.nationalbaptist.com/
7. Progressive Baptist Convention of California. http://www.rwbc.com/progressive_leadership.html

 

 

 

 

Religious Bodies (Cont.)

Jewish

1. Ayecha.http://pages.prodigy.net/yavilahmccoy 
http://www.seventhfam.com/
2. Black and Jewish Web Page. http://www.angelfire.com/ca/dorseydon/index.html
3. Black Jews, Hebrews, and Israelites. http://members.aol.com/Blackjews/
4. Sistahfriends. http://www.sistahspace.com/jewish/shalomsf/

Moslem

 

1. The Lahore Ahmadiyya Movement. http://www.muslim.org
2. Masjid Taqua-An-Nur (The Bilalian Nation). http://www.taqwa-an-nur.com/taqwa.htm.
3. The Nation of Islam Online. http://www.noi.org/main.html
4. Nation of Islam Settlement No. 1. http://www.seventhfam.com/

Copyright © 2014 University of Rhode Island.

The University of Rhode Island
Think Big, We Do.
A-ZDirectoryContact UsJump to top