Scholarships & Awards


Herschel I. and Suzanne B. Oringel Grossman Economics Scholarship

Dr. Herschel I Grossman was an esteemed economist and chair of the economics department at Brown University. He died while attending an academic conference in 2004. His widow, an alumna of URI, endowed this scholarship in 2012 with the intent on honoring her husband by supporting an economics student with an interest in advance study in economics or related field.

Nancy McKinstry Endowed Scholarship in Economics

Nancy McKinstry is an alumna of the University and a former economics major whose generosity has enabled the department to provide an annual scholarship. The McKinstry scholarship is to be awarded to a meritorious student with demonstrated financial need.

Elton Rayack Scholarship in Economics

Dr. Elton Rayack is professor emeritus and former chair of the Department of Economics.  His many years of service to URI are honored with an annual scholarship. The Rayack Scholarship is awarded to a meritorious student with a “demonstrated commitment to social justice.” Financial need is not a requirement, but may be taken into consideration.

Jonathan Schuyler Pardee Memorial Scholarship in Economics

‘Sky’ Pardee was an economics major from Maine who died in the fall of 2000 while studying abroad in England. The Pardee Scholarship is to be awarded biannually to a meritorious Economics student. A Philosophy student receives the award in alternate years. Financial need is not a requirement, but it may be used as a secondary consideration.

Arthur & Michelle Mead Scholarship in Economics

Dr. Art is still a very active member of the faculty and is aware of the rising cost of education.  For this reason, he supports an annual scholarship to be awarded to a Rhode Island economics major with the best “why me?” essay.


Joel Dirlam Award for Excellence in Economic Research

Dr. Joel Dirlam is a former URI Economics professor. The prize is awarded to the student(s) with the year’s best research project.