CAREER Award and Young Investigator Award Recipients

Young Investigator Awards

The Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Program supports scientists and engineers who are in their first or second full-time academic appointment, and who show exceptional promise for doing creative research.

Year Professor Project
2021 Ashutosh Giri Unraveling the Microscopic Dynamics of Coupled Energy States in Nanostructures
2021 Brennan Phillips Ultralight, Economical, and Adaptable Solutions for Deep-Sea UUVs And Distributed Sensing Using Fiber-Optic Tethers
2020 Kaushallya (Kay) Adhikari Information Theoretic Design of Sparse Arrays and Adaptive Algorithms to Maximize Detection in Real Sonar Systems
2017 Tao Wei Sub-Terahertz-Range-Interrogated Fiber-Optic Systems for Distributed Sensing Applications
Young Investigator Award winners
From left, Young Investigator Award winners Ashutosh Giri, Brennan Phillips, Kaushallya (Kay) Adhikari and Tao Wei. Photos by Mike Salerno.


The Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Program is the National Science Foundation’s most prestigious awards in support of early-career faculty who have the potential to serve as academic role models in research and education and to lead advances in the mission of their department or organization.

Project Start Date Professor Project
1/01/2024 Ryan Polling  
07/01/2022 Hui Lin PARP: Mislead Physical-Disruption Attacks by Preemptive Anti-Reconnaissance for Power Grids Cyber-Physical Infrastructures
04/01/2021 Joseph Goodwill Closing the Rural Water and Education Gap with a Simple Advanced Oxidation Process
05/15/2020 Bin Li* Wireless Collaborative Mixed Reality Networking: Foundations and Algorithms for Joint Communication, Computation, and Learning
07/01/2019 Daniel Roxbury Spectral imaging for sub-cellular nanometrology and nanotoxicology
06/01/2019 Yi Zheng* Investigation of Nanoscale Radiative Heat Transfer for Enhanced Thermal Infrared Energy Conversion and Cooling
06/01/2017 Kunal Mankodiya CPS: Internet of Wearable E-Textiles for Telemedicine
05/01/2014 Vinka Craver Bacterial adaptation mechanism to chronic exposure to nanoparticles and its implications to nanomanufacturing and public health
02/15/2012 He Huang* Understanding and Analyzing User-Prosthesis Interaction for Designing a Volitional Controller for Powered Lower Limb Prostheses
04/01/2011 Haibo He AIS – An Integrated Optimization and Prediction Framework for Machine Intelligence based on Adaptive Dynamic Programming
02/15/2011 Geoffrey Bothun Nanoparticle-Bacterial Membrane Interactions and their Role in Nanotoxicology
02/01/2007 Yan Sun Building Trust in Distributed Networks: Theories, Architecture and Applications
06/01/2005 Frederick Vetter Novel Engineering Analyses of Cardiac Hypertrophy
02/01/2003 David Chelidze Phase Space Warping and Stochastic Interrogation: A New Paradigm for Damage Diagnosis and Prognosis
CAREER winners
From left, CAREER winners Hui Lin, Joseph Goodwill, Daniel Roxbury, Kunal Mankodiya, Vinka Craver, Haibo He, Geoffrey Bothun, Yan Sun Frederick Vetter, and David Chelidze. Most photos were taken by Mike Salerno.

*No longer at the University