Faculty Senate

Pastore Hall Room 224, 51 Lower College Road, Kingston, RI 02881

lbourbonnais@uri.edu-401-874-5176jlawrence@uri.edu - 401-874-2616

Think Big, We Do.
Rhode Island Seal

Faculty Senate Awards

The 2024 Service Award Winners were announced at the May 2, 2024 Faculty Senate meeting. Congratulations to Amanda Izenstark, winner of the Sheila Black Grubman Award, and to Lewis Rothstein, winner of the Fritz Wenisch Award! Please click on the awards below for more information.  Nominations for the 2025 Awards will be due April 1, 2025!


Since the Faculty Senate’s establishment in 1960 as the agent of the general faculty, elected Senators have served the Institution in matters of teaching, research, curriculum, academic standards and calendars, faculty status, and other systems as they affect the faculty as a whole. Senators value the opportunity to influence the practices and policies through shared governance with the President, University Leadership, and the Board of Trustees. They serve on standing, joint, and special committees as well as attend and participate fully in monthly Senate meetings. Faculty voices are essential to the success of an institution and necessary for academic freedom to flourish. Recognition of exemplary service to URI’s Faculty Senate through active and effective participation in the work of the Senate is made through resolutions, and annual and special awards. 

The Sheila Black Grubman Award is an annual award established in 2011 and is awarded jointly by the Faculty Senate and the Office of the Provost to a faculty member who has made important contributions to and dedicated significant time and energy to the Senate.

The Fritz Wenisch Award for Exceptional Contributions to the Faculty Senate established in 2019 is awarded by the Faculty Senate annually to a Senator who demonstrates outstanding service. 


Copyright © 2024 University of Rhode Island.

The University of Rhode Island
Think Big, We Do.
A-ZDirectoryContact UsJump to top