Faculty Senate

Pastore Hall Room 224, 51 Lower College Road, Kingston, RI 02881

lbourbonnais@uri.edu-401-874-5176jlawrence@uri.edu - 401-874-2616

Think Big, We Do.
Rhode Island Seal

The Fritz Wenisch Award for Exceptional Contributions to the Faculty Senate

Fritz Wenisch

This award is to honor the late Professor and former Senator Wenisch dedication, not only to the University through his decades of teaching, but also to the Faculty Senate as a Senator and Chair of the Faculty Senate Constitution, Bylaws, and University Manual Committee (CBUM) for more than 20 years with his breadth of knowledge of the University Manual and parliamentary procedure. The award will be given only to Senators and who go above and beyond for the Senate and the Senate Committees. The award, while not having a monetary component, will recognize, acknowledge, and thank the hard work of the awardee.

Who is eligible?

Current Faculty Senators who have not served on the Faculty Senate Executive Committee (FSEC) for at least two years prior to the current year are eligible.  Winners from the past five years are not eligible. 

Submission Information: To submit a nomination, please complete the nomination form or send a letter or email to the Faculty Senate Coordinator by April 1, 2024. (lbourbonnais@uri.ed). 


Former Fritz Wenisch Award Recipients

2023 Winner, Senator William Krieger,
Associate Professor and
Department Chair, Philosophy,
College of Arts and Sciences

2022 Winner, Senator Amanda Izenstark, Reference and Instructional Design Librarian            University Libraries

2021 AWARD Winner Senator Laura Meyerson,
Department of Natural Resources Science,
College of Environment & Life Sciences

2020 AWARD Winner Senator Audrey Cardany, Music Department, College of Arts and Sciences

Copyright © 2024 University of Rhode Island.

The University of Rhode Island
Think Big, We Do.
A-ZDirectoryContact UsJump to top