Art Stein Scholarship for Nonviolence and Peace

The Art Stein Scholarship for Nonviolence and Peace is a fund whose purpose is to encourage and support ongoing generations of University of Rhode Island students who share a growing commitment to nonviolent peace education, social economic justice, ecological sustainability, and human unity.

details and past recipients

The Bruce Tancrell Memorial Scholarship for Nonviolence Training and Peace Education

In honor of Bruce Tancrell and his commitment to the philosophy and practice of nonviolence as a way of life, the Tancrell family in the summer of 2010 established a scholarship fund through the URI Center for Nonviolence & Peace Studies to inspire and support individuals from around the world to follow Bruce’s example.

details and past recipients

The Stookey Family Scholarship

This scholarship, established by Hilary Stookey, a Kingian Nonviolence Trainer from Summer Institute 2014, honors participants of the International Nonviolence Summer Institute who have demonstrated leadership potential and active involvement in issues of peace and nonviolence in their home communities or on a global level. Hilary and David Stookey established this scholarship in 2015.

Details and past recipients

In Peace and Freedom Award

Bernard LaFayette, Jr. and Kathryn Johnson Bueno de Mesquita wrote a book, In Peace and Freedom: My Journey in Selma, that chronicled Bernard’s experiences as one of the primary organizers of the 1965 Selma voting rights movement and the Selma-to-Montgomery marches, and he relates his experiences of these historic initiatives.

Bernard and Kay are contributing the proceeds of this book to the Center and to help sponsor participants in the International Nonviolence Summer Institute as Level I and Level II nonviolence trainers.

Details and past recipients

The Stephen Myles Scholarship for Social Justice

This scholarship is awarded to persons who are actively engaged in addressing issues of social justice on campus or in the community.

Financial need is a secondary consideration for qualification, though any URI student in eligible to receive the award. Candidates are selected from a pool of recommendations from the Vice President for Community, Equity, and Diversity and the University Equity Council.

Details and past recipients