Local Research Administration

Local Research Administration (LRA) provides support within the schools and centers at URI.

Local Research Administrators (LRAs) provide pre-and post-award support to investigators who engage in sponsored activities related to research, teaching, and service. They are located at Colleges and Centers to provide hands-on active day-to-day support.

While duties of LRAs may differ from College to College, generally, their responsibilities include:

  • Facilitate investigator engagement with all research support offices
  • Acting as point of contact with Central Administration in pre- and post-award matters
  • Managing proposal preparation
  • Assisting the PI in fiscal management of their research portfolio (hard and soft money)
  • Promoting compliance with sponsor and URI policies.

For “Who Does What” in each phase of the research project lifecycle, please see the Roles and Responsibilities Matrix.

Research Administration at the Schools and Centers

College/Center/Department Local Research Administration Contacts
College of Arts and Sciences  
College of Business Lori Jacolucci
Email: lorijac@uri.edu 
Tel: 874-4970
Alan Shawn Feinstein College of Education and Professional Studies Diana Laferriere
Email: laferriere@uri.edu 
Tel: 277-5077
College of Engineering Jennifer Carey
(Pre-Award)
Email: Jennifer_carey@uri.edu
Tel: 874-5990
 
Dee Cook
(Post-Award for the following Depts: 2300,2301,2302,2303, 2308 and IEP)
Email: dcook@uri.edu
Tel: 874-5419
 
Nicole (Nikki) Larkin
(Post-Award for Dept: 2306)
Email: Nicole.larkin@uri.edu
 
Jennifer (Jenna) Cragan
(Post-Award for NIUVT)
Email: j_cragan@uri.edu
 
Rachel Dahl
(Post-Award for NIUVT)
Rachel.dahl@uri.edu
College of Environment and Life Sciences Kathleen Gray (Pre-Award) 
Email: Kathleen.gray@uri.edu 
College of Health Sciences Karen Frost (Post-Award)
Email: karenfrost@uri.edu
Tel: 874-4224 
 
Faith Helm (Gerontology)
Email: flees@uri.edu
Tel: 874-5332 
 
Institute for Integrated Health and Innovation (IIHI)
Refer to: https://web.uri.edu/ahc/health-institute/health-institute-proposal-form/
 
Kathy Meier (IIHI Pre-Award)
Email: kmeier@uri.edu
Tel: 874-2985
 
Terri-Lyn Hodson (IIHI Post-Award)
Email: thodson@uri.edu
Tel: 874-2205
 
Megan Garretson Lane (IIHI Post-Award)
Email: megan_lane@uri.edu
Tel: 874-9055
College of Nursing Michele Swallow (Pre-Award)
Email: michele.swallow@uri.edu 
 
Kerri Maurice (Post-Award)
Email: kmaurice@uri.edu 
 
Suzy Winchester-Barcelos (Denise Coppa)
Email: suzy_winchester@uri.edu
Tel: 277-5193
College of Pharmacy Woodi Woodring (Pre and Post-Award)
Email: woodi@uri.edu
Tel: 874-4083 
 
Laura Bellavia (INBRE award)
kbellavia@uri.edu
Tel: 874-9382
George and Ann Ryan Institute for Neuroscience Terry Greywolf (Business Manager)
Email:   tggreywolf@uri.edu 
Tel: 874-5008
Graduate School of Oceanography GSO Research Administration and Support