College of Nursing

White Hall, 39 Butterfield Road, Kingston, RI 02881 – Phone: 401.874.2766 - Fax: 401.874.3811

Think Big, We Do.
Rhode Island Seal

College of Nursing Advanced Degrees

On Saturday, May 21, 2016, the University of Rhode Island conferred six Doctor of Philosophy degrees, five Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) degrees, and forty-six Master of Science degrees to the College of Nursing graduates.

2016 CON graduatesA bright sunny day greeted participants, their families, guests and faculty to the Ryan Center ceremony. David M. Dooley, greeted the assembly, followed by remarks from Barbara Cottam, Chair, RI Board of Education and a short speech from Lindsay McLennan, President, Graduate Student Association. Distinguished Guest Speaker Dr. Richard A. Tapia, Maxfield-Oshman Professor in Engineering, Rice University recounted his long journey in academia from very humble beginnings to a Presidential Medal from President Obama. The speech was very moving and an inspiration to every member of the audience. His life and speech were a testament to never settling for less than your best, a message that the graduates should emulate in their careers. Dr. Dooley then conferred degrees to the graduates.

Receiving Doctor of Philosophy degrees were: Ahlam H. Abdullah, PhD; Bonnie Jeanne Charland, PhD; Brandi P. Cotton, PhD; Lisa Adorno DiMaria, PhD; Katherine M. Paquette, PhD; and Dennis H. Sewchuk, PhD.  Major Professors for the new graduates were Professors Marlene Dufault, Mary Sullivan, Diane Martins, Ginette Ferszt, and Pat Burbank.

Receiving Doctor of Nursing Practice degrees were: Debra L. Campo, DNP; Elizabeth A. Corner, DNP; Donna Louise Horrocks, DNP; Anne E. Neuville, DNP, and Elaine K. Parker Williams, DNP.

Master of Science, MSN degrees were awarded to: Stephanie M. Adam, Margaret J. Allaire, Anna V. Bailey, Jaimie Borden, Stacey L. Brunetti-Novak, Kathryn J. Cardarelli, Tracey A. Casala, Corvah M. Chea, Amy L. Comeroski, Bridget A. Cox, Catherine L. Crandell, Maryann Dasilva, Jennifer R. Deery, Melanie Lyn Dubois, Susan M. Jedson Fair, Nicole G. Femino, Rachel A. Guidera, Laura Lydia Horta, Susanne O. Iwu, Lori A. Johnson, Kevin J. Lagor, Joyce L. Latorre, Cynthia A. Lessard, Michelle F. Mallon, Jeannie C. Monteiro, Jennifer A. Morin, Kathleen M. Nichols, Coleen M. Periak, Alexandra N. Perone, Lauren E. Pillsbury, Kristen A. Sayles, Maryann Seebeck, Donnalee J. Segal, Sekboppa Sor, Mary Tatro, Marybeth Taub, Rhonda M. Taylor, A Maria Toplosky, Anne T. Valez, Kyle C. Wardle, Lori A. Wells, Virginia Wilcox, Julia I. Wood, Deanna L. Wright, and Miguel A. Zaplana.



Copyright © 2016 University of Rhode Island.

The University of Rhode Island
Think Big, We Do.
A-ZDirectoryContact UsJump to top