Think Big, We Do.
Rhode Island Seal

Global Education Steering Committee

The Global Steering Committee was appointed by the Provost and has representatives from all colleges and other constituent groups on campus committed to global education initiatives. It serves as a coordinating and organizing entity to advance communication among all areas of the University relative to global education and programs. This committee is charged with advising in the development of global efforts and coordinating to maximize university resources. The Global Steering Committee also serves as advisory in the development of potential strategic international partnerships with other universities and assists in communicating global initiatives university-wide. Overall, the committee will work to implement recommendations articulated by the Global Task Force and JCAP towards internationalizing the University.

Global Steering Committee Members

David Abedon, Prof. CELS, Extension Specialist david@uri.edu

Jenny Audette, Assistant Professor, Physical Therapy jaudette@mail.uri.edu

Sigrid Berka, Professor/Exec. Director IEP International Engineering Program sberka@uri.edu

Laura Beauvais, Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs beauvais@uri.edu

Tom Boving, Professor CELS – GEO boving@uri.edu

Dania Brandford-Calvo, Dtr. Office of International Education, International Students and Scholars brandford@uri.edu

Shaw Chen, Associate Dean, College of Business chenshaw@uri.edu

Bo Gillie, International Admission Advisor rgillie@mail.uri.edu

Bill Gordon, Associate Professor, Landscape Arch. williamrgordon@uri.edu

Haibo He, Assoc. Prof Elect, Comp, Bio Engineering he@ele.uri.edu

Norbert Hedderich, Professor/Chair, Dept. of Languages hedderich@uri.edu

Kristin Johnson, Assistant Professor, Political Science kristin_johnson@mail.uri.edu

Sarah Lopolito, Director, ACE English Language Institute sarahl@cultural.org

Princess Metuge, Career Counselor, URI Providence princess_metuge@uri.edu

Diane Martins, Associate Professor, Nursing    dcmartins@uri.edu

Maureen Moakley, Professor, Political Science moakley@uri.edu

Kathleen Maher, Asst. Dtr. For National Fellowships & Academic Opportunities, Honors kmaher@uri.edu

Rosaria Pisa, Lecturer, Sociology/Anthropology Director, Gender & Women’s Studies rpisa@uri.edu

Navindra Seeram, Associate Professor, Biomed & Pharmacy nseeram@uri.edu

Nancy Stricklin, Asst. to Provost for Global Strategies nancys@uri.edu

Nasser Zawia, Dean, Graduate School nzawia@uri.edu

Supporting Documents


View or Download Full PDF

News & Upcoming Events

Copyright © 2015 University of Rhode Island.

The University of Rhode Island
Think Big, We Do.
A-ZDirectoryContact UsJump to top