A Strategic Vision for the University of Rhode Island

Strategic Plan 2023-2033

This plan outlines a strategic vision for the University of Rhode Island for the next decade—articulating our aspirations to broaden our impact, enhance student achievement, foster an inclusive culture, and power the university of the future, and the actions we will take to achieve those goals.

This is not a static document, but rather an agile, dynamic plan that will necessarily evolve, enabling us to respond to changes in the world and our communities, while maintaining a firm commitment to our land- and sea-grant missions, our institutional vision, and our foundational values. The ideas in this plan are intended to unify our community and inspire faculty, students, staff, and partners to cultivate new ideas and actions in their areas of work and interest that support the strategic priorities of this plan and accelerate URI’s exciting forward trajectory.

Strategic Priorities


Developing a strategic plan, particularly one with a 10-year outlook, takes care and time. This plan is the result of the dedicated work of a strategic plan steering committee comprised of a diverse group of faculty, staff, and students from across our campuses and co-chaired by the University president and the Faculty Senate president. The comprehensive planning process included working sessions and community forums on the Kingston, Narragansett Bay, and Providence campuses that generated more than 800 pages of notes and feedback from hundreds of members of the URI community. The plan highlights the common themes that emerged from the community forums and feedback and its four strategic priorities set an ambitious and inclusive vision for URI’s next decade and beyond.

Chair: Marc Parlange, President | Vice Chair: Audrey Cardany, Associate Professor of Music and President of Faculty Senate; Michael A. Rice, Professor of Aquaculture and Fisheries and President of the Faculty Senate | Members: Laura Beauvais, Interim Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs; Peter Snyder, Vice President for Research and Economic Development; Ellen Reynolds, Interim Vice President for Student Affairs; Abbi Rider, Vice President for Administration and Finance; Thorr Bjorn, Director of Athletics; Dean Libutti, Associate Vice President for Enrollment and Student Success; Lil O’Rourke, President, URI Foundation & Alumni Engagement; Paula Bontempi, Dean, Graduate School of Oceanography; Barbara Wolfe, Dean, College of Nursing; Linda Welters, Professor, College of Business; Bongsup Cho, Professor, College of Pharmacy; Joëlle Rollo-Koster, Professor of Medieval History, College of Arts and Sciences; Mayrai Gindy, Professor, College of Engineering; Kristina Moyet, Associate Director, Academic Programming and Assessment, Talent Development; Pamela Brewer, Graduate Student, College of Nursing; Grace Kiernan, Student Senate President

Staffing: Abby Benson, Chief of Staff and Senior Advisor to the President; Chelsea Berry, Communications Specialist, Office of the President; Matthew McDonald, Vice President for Communications and Marketing; Ann Morrissey, Special Assistant for Planning; Sean Edmund Rogers, Vice President for Community, Equity, and Diversity, and Spachman Professor of HR and Labor Relations; John Stringer, Director of Institutional Research

Position titles listed are of those held during the committee’s work.