department of english

114 Swan Hall, 60 Upper College Road, Kingston, RI 02881

Main Office: 401.874.5931 - Graduate Office: 401.874.4663

URI
Think Big, We Do.
Rhode Island Seal

People

Full Time Faculty

Barberthumb

Associate Professor

British and European Modernism; Critical Theory; Philosophy and Literature

401.874.4432, Office: 308G Swan Hallstephenmichaelbarber@gmail.com

carolyn-betensky-web

Associate Professor and Undergraduate Advisor

Victorian Literature and Culture; Literary and Cultural Theory; Psychoanalysis

401.874.7437, Office: 114C Swan Hallbetensky@uri.edu

mary-cappello-web

Professor, Affiliated Professor of Gender and Women's Studies

Creative Writing; American Literature; Literature and Medicine; Sound Studies

401.874.4678, Office: 308A Swan Hallmcapp@uri.edu

peter-covino-web

Associate Professor

Creative Writing; Avant-Garde and Contemporary Poetry and Poetics; Italian American, Translation, and Ethnic Studies

401.874.9499, Office: 308B Swan Hallpacovino@aol.com

kathleen-davis-web

Professor

Medieval Studies; Translation Studies; Issues of Periodization and Secularism

401.874.2016, Office: 308F Swan Hallkathleendavis@uri.edu

mountainEron

Associate Professor

Restoration and 18th Century Literature, Culture, and Philosophy; Aesthetic Theory; Romanticism

401.874.4683, Office: 308E Swan Hall, Office Hours: Mondays & Wednesdays, By Appointmentsarah_eron@uri.edu

david-faflik-web

Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Studies

Critical/Cultural Theories in 19th Century American Literature and Culture; Urban Studies; American Studies

401.874.4670, Office: 109 Swan Hallfaflik@uri.edu

gitahi-gititi-web

Professor, Affiliated Professor of Film Media, Joint Appointment in Africana Studies

Postcolonial Studies; Third World Film; African and African American Novel, Drama, and Poetry

401.874.4661, Office: 148 Swan Halltunyamu@uri.edu

jennifer-jones-web

Associate Professor, Affiliated Professor of Gender and Women's Studies

British and Continental Romanticism; Critical Theory; Poetry and Poetics; Aesthetic Theory

401.874.5556, Office: 175D Swan Halljjjones@uri.edu

valerie-karno-web

Associate Professor

Law and Literature; Contemporary U.S. Ethnic Literature; American Studies; Film & Television; Gender Studies

401.874.4682, Office: 308C Swan Hallvkarno@gmail.com

naomi-mandel-web

Professor, Affiliated Professor of Film Media

Contemporary Literature and Culture; Popular and Digital culture; Holocaust Studies; American Studies; Critical Theory, Philosophy, and Rhetoric.

401.874.4011, Office: 175B Swan Hallmandel@uri.edu

derek-nikitas-web

Assistant Professor

Creative Writing

401.874.5692, Office: 208A Swan Hallnikitas@uri.edu

martha-rojas-web

Associate Professor

Director, Rumowicz Literature of the Sea Lecture/Seminar Series; American Literature

401.874.7880, Office: 308D Swan Hallmartharojas@uri.edu

karen-stein-web

Professor, Affiliated Professor of Gender and Women's Studies

Author of Reading, Learning, Teaching Toni Morrison

401.874.9018, Office: 208B Swan Hallkstein@uri.edu

ryan-trimm-web

Professor

20th Century and Contemporary British Literature and Culture; Film; Postcolonial Theory and Literature; Cultural studies, Theory, and Philosophy

401.874.4685, Office: 175C Swan Halltrimmrs@uri.edu

jean-walton-web

Professor, Affiliated Professor of Gender and Women's Studies, and Film Media

British and European Modernism; Film and Culture; Gender, Race, Sexuality, Urban Politics

401.874.2016, Office: 108 Swan Halljwalton@uri.edu

travis-williams-web

Associate Professor, Department Chair

Shakespeare; Science and Literature

401.874.9501, Office: 114A Swan Halltdwilliams@uri.edu

Copyright © 2017 University of Rhode Island.

The University of Rhode Island
Think Big, We Do.
A-ZDirectoryContact UsJump to top