university libraries

15 Lippitt Road, Kingston, RI 02881

libadmin@etal.uri.edu – 401.874.2672

URI
Think Big, We Do.
Rhode Island Seal

Department of Public Services

Welcome to the Public Services Department of the University Libraries. The Public Services Department is one of two academic departments in the University Library college; the other is Technical Services.

Public Services Department Mission

The Public Services Department supports the Missions of the Library and the University by assisting users in finding information, facilitating access to information, and teaching concepts and skills necessary for current research and lifelong learning. Approved by the Public Services Faculty, 1/07

In order to fulfill the above mission, faculty members provide reference services and library instruction, as well as coordinate Government Publications, Access Services (Circulation, Reserves, and Interlibrary Loan), and the Media Resources Center. Along with the faculty in the Technical Services Department, Public Services faculty select materials for the Libraries’ collections, including online databases and other online resources. Faculty members of both departments also serve as liaisons to other departments, schools, and colleges at URI.

Faculty members in Public Services are responsible for all library functions that involve direct contact with library users at the Robert L. Carothers Library and Learning Commons in Kingston.

 

Public Services Chair

Debbie Mongeau

Professor, University Library - Chair, Public Services; Head, Government Publications

401.874.4610 – dmongeau@uri.edu

Public Services Faculty

Kristin Almeida, MLIS

Lecturer, Public Services, University Libraries

Office: 122 Library

401.874.5067 – kristin_almeida@my.uri.edu

Madge Boldt

Lecturer, Public Services, University Libraries

Office: 122 Library

401.874.5067 – madge.boldt@gmail.com

Robin Devin, MA, PhD

Professor, University Library - Health Sciences Reference/Bibliographer

Office: 122 Library

401.874.2128 – rdevin@uri.edu

Brian Gallagher

Associate Professor, University Library, Head, Access Services

Office: 103 Library

401.874.9524 – btg@uri.edu

Amanda Izenstark

Associate Professor, University Library, Reference and Instructional Design Librarian

Office: 118 Library

401.874.4582 – amanda@mail.uri.edu

Margaret J. Keefe, MLS

Professor, University Library, Social Sciences Reference/Bibliographer

Office: 123 Library

401.874.5086 – mjkeefe@uri.edu

Carrie Kelly, MLIS

Lecturer, Public Services, University Libraries

Office: 122 Library

401.874.5067 – carrieannkelly@gmail.com

Jim Kinnie

Associate Professor, University Library, Humanities Reference/Bibliographer

Office: 124 Library

401.874.9240 – jkinnie@uri.edu

Peter Larsen

Associate Professor, University Library - Head of Reference, Physical Sciences & Engineering Reference/Bibliographer

Office: 125 Library

401.874.4637 – plarsen@uri.edu

Katie Leahy

Lecturer, Public Services, University Libraries

Office: 126 Library

401.874.4634 – katie.leahy8@gmail.com

Kelly LeMeur

Lecturer, Public Services, University Libraries

Office: 122 Library

401.874.5067 – kellylemeur@gmail.com

Mary MacDonald

Professor, University Library, Head of Instruction, Information Literacy Librarian

Office: 120 Library

401.874.4635 – marymac@uri.edu

Ida McGhee

Adjunct Professor, Public Services, University Libraries

0ffice: 122 Library

401.874.5067 – imcghee2003@yahoo.com

Lisa Richter, MLIS

Lecturer, Public Services, University Library

Office: 145 Library

401.874.2640 – ldavisrichter@verizon.net

Public Services Staff

Scott Briggs

Information Services Tech I, Government Publications

Office: 147 Library

401.874.2606 – scottb@uri.edu

Angel Ferria, MLIS

Curator, Media Resource Center

Office: Media Resource Center

401.874.4267 – aferria@mail.uri.edu

Emily Greene

Information Services Tech II, Interlibrary Loan

Office: 104 Library

401.874.4613 – emgreene@uri.edu

Garrison Hull

Information Services Technician I, Circulation

Office: Circulation

401.874.6130 – gahull@mail.uri.edu

Gayle Johnston

Information Services Tech I, Circulation

Office: Circulation

401.874.5175 – gaylejohnston@mail.uri.edu

Jeannette McKay

Information Services Tech I, Circulation

Office: Circulation

401.874.4229 – jeannette@uri.edu

Sandy Sheldon

Information Services Tech II, Head of Circulation

Office: Circulation

401.874.8635 – sandys@uri.edu

Elizabeth Smith

Information Services Tech I, Circulation & Reserves

Office: 104 Library

401.874.5855 – liz_smith@uri.edu

Mary Ann Sumner

Information Services Tech I, Circulation

Office: Circulation

401.874.4622 – msumner@uri.edu

Ron Zincone

Senior Word Processing Typist, Public Services Department

401.874.5904 – rzincone@uri.edu

Public Services Faculty Emeriti

Lucille Cameron, MLS

Dean of Libraries; Associate Professor, University Library - Social Sciences Reference / Bibliographer

John B. Etchingham, MLS

Associate Professor, University Library - Business Reference / Bibliographer

John Laurence Kelland, PhD, MLS

Professor, University Library - Life Sciences Reference / Bibliographer

Sylvia Krausse, MLS, MA

Professor, University Library - Humanities Reference / Bibliographer

Janice F. Sieburth, MS, MLS

Professor, University Library - Head, Pell Library

Copyright © 2014 University of Rhode Island.

The University of Rhode Island
Think Big, We Do.
A-ZDirectoryContact UsJump to top