Student Resources

College of Arts and Sciences Forms

Students must submit intent to graduate forms (also called file for degree forms). An advisor from the History Department must sign this form before you take it to the dean’s office.

The deadlines for these forms are:

  • October 1 for May graduation
  • April 1 for August graduation
  • August 1 for December graduation

If you are graduating with a double major, you must file two intent to graduate forms, one for each major. You will need to see an advisor in the other major as well as an advisor in history.

All forms are available on line at College of Arts and Sciences forms or in the History Department’s main office, Washburn 113. For study abroad approvals you may contact Dr. Robert Widell directly.

National History Honor Society
Phi Alpha Theta
Contact Professor Robert Widell <rwidell@uri.edu>


History Department Advisors

Please email advisors to make an appointment. Phone messages may be unreliable during the COVID-19 epidemic. If in doubt, email Professor Christian Gonzales <cgonzal@uri.edu> or contact him via Starfish, or email Professor Robert Widell <rwidell@uri.edu>.

KINGSTON CAMPUS
historyadvisor

African American History and 20th Century US History
Professor Robert Widell
rwidell@uri.edu or 401.874.2112

African American History and History of Slavery
Professor Marcus Nevius
mpnevius@uri.edu or 401.874.5077 

Ancient History and Underwater Archaeology
Professor Bridget Buxton
babuxton@uri.edu or 401.874.4085

Early American and Native American History
Professor Christian Gonzales
cgonzal@uri.edu or 401.874.5642 

History of Science and Medicine
Professor Andrea Rusnock
rusnock@uri.edu or 401.874.9021

Labor and Environmental History of the US
Professor Erik Loomis 
eloomis@uri.edu or 401.874.4078

Latin American History and Environmental History
Professor Ximena Sevilla
sevilla@uri.edu or 401.874.4901

Maritime History, Underwater Archaeology and Applied History
Professor Rod Mather
rodmather@uri.edu or 401.874.4093

Medieval History
Professor Joëlle Rollo-Koster
Joellekoster@uri.edu or 401.874.2595

Pre-modern Islamic History and Jewish History
Professor Alan Verskin
verskin@uri.edu or 401.874.4086

Rhode Island History, Applied History and Colonial America
Professor Catherine DeCesare
cdecesare@uri.edu or 401.874.4090

Twentieth-century US, Religion, and Immigration
Professor Evelyn Sterne
sterne@uri.edu or 401.874.4074

Twentieth-century Women’s and Gender history 
Professor Jessica Frazier
jmfrazier@uri.edu or 401.874.4092