Dean’s Office

Bruce CorlissDean, Graduate School of Oceanography
David SmithAssociate Dean, Graduate School of Oceanography
James PattiDirector, Graduate School of Oceanography/Administration
Malia SchwartzAssistant Director for Research, Graduate School of Oceanography
Ellen AndersonDirector of Development, Graduate School of Oceanography

Senior Administrators and Directors

David PalazzettiDirector of Facilities and Operations
Thomas GlennonDirector of Marine Operations
Robert BallardDirector, Center for Ocean Exploration
Dwight ColemanDirector, Inner Space Center
Gail ScowcroftAssociate Director, Inner Space Center
Jennifer CritcherInterim Director, Coastal Resources Center
Sara HickoxDirector, Office of Marine Programs
Dennis NixonDirector, Rhode Island Sea Grant
Alan DesbonnetAssistant Director, Rhode Island Sea Grant
Jon AlbertsExecutive Secretary, UNOLS
Annette DeSilvaDeputy Executive Secretary, UNOLS
Judith SwiftDirector, Coastal Institute

Dean’s Advisory Committee

Peter CornillonRepresenting Physical Oceanography Faculty
Rainer LohmannRepresenting Chemical Oceanography Faculty
Candace OviattRepresenting Biological Oceanography Faculty
John KingRepresenting Marine Geology and Geophysics Faculty
Lucie MarandaRepresenting Marine Research Scientists

Dean’s Advisory Council

Christopher Pell (Chair)Board Member and Vice Chair, The John A. Hartford Foundation, New York, NY; former Partner, Barclay Investments; and former Executive Director, The Preservation Society of Newport County, RI
The Honorable Lincoln ChafeeFormer Governor of Rhode Island, Providence, RI; former United States Senator from Rhode Island and Mayor of Warwick, RI
Barclay CollinsRetired oil and gas executive, formerly with Anadarko Petroleum Corporation; responsible for numerous international oil and gas exploration, production and business development projects, primarily in Africa and the Middle East
Dennis CostelloManaging Partner, Braemar Energy Ventures, Boston, MA
James GilbertPresident, Christensen Shipyards, and President, ViewPoint Consulting, Wellfleet MA; founding editor-in-chief and former president of ShowBoats International and co-founder of the International SeaKeepers Society. Author, The Admiral (novel, Christopher Matthews Publishing)
David GoveU.S. Navy Rear Admiral (Retired) and former submariner. Served as Oceanographer and Navigator of the Navy during his final active duty assignment (2007–2009). Now retired / Senior Consultant at Rite-Solutions, a Middletown, RI defense contractor, following 5 years as Director, Undersea Warfare Systems, Raytheon Company – Integrated Defense Systems, Portsmouth, RI
Stephen GreenleePresident, ExxonMobil Exploration Company and Vice President, Exxon Mobil Corporation; Member, Baker Institute Energy Forum Advisory Board; and Chair of the University of Houston Energy Advisory Board
Nancy JamisonRetired Senior Vice President for Visa International; Secretary of the Board of Trustees, Aquidneck Land Trust, Newport, RI
Robert MortonManaging Partner, Newport Biodiesel, LLC, Newport, RI; former Manager, Marine Science & Technology Operation of Science Applications International Corporation (SAIC), Newport, RI
Frank RayAttorney, Newport, RI; and Principal, PW Capital LLC, an insurance run-off acquisition company
Andrew ReillyManaging Director, Accretive Exit Capital Partners, LLC, New York, NY
Janet RobinsonBoard Member and former Chair, Carnegie Corporation of New York; Chairman of the Presidential Board of Trustees of Salve Regina University, Newport, RI; Former President and Chief Executive Officer, The New York Times Company, New York, NY
Christopher RooseveltAttorney, Mount Kisco, NY
Sandra WhitehouseChief Scientific Officer, AltaSea at the Port of Los Angeles; and Senior Advisor, Ocean Conservancy, Washington, DC
Win WarrenSenior Advisor, Corporate Business Development, Noble Energy, Inc., Houston, TX
Richard WestU.S. Navy Rear Admiral (Retired), former Oceanographer and Navigator of the Navy; former President/CEO of the Consortium for Ocean Leadership, Washington, DC; past Chairman of the National Sea Grant College Program Federal Advisory Committee
Think Big We Do

Copyright © 2017 University of Rhode Island.