Research

The research conducted at the Graduate School of Oceanography has never been more vital, or global.

At GSO, we make essential contributions to humanity’s understanding of the world’s oceans—from Narragansett Bay to the Antarctic—and, along the way, we employ the latest technologies available to oceanographers. Moreover, through outreach programs and partnerships, we make sure these discoveries and analyses are accessible to everyone.

GSO Scientific Publications List of Theses and Dissertations



Where to do research, at sea or on campus

Research Facilities

Name Type More information
Research Groups    
Air-Sea Interaction Research Group Research Group https://web.uri.edu/gso/research/air-sea-interaction-research-group/
Dynamics of Ocean Currents and Fronts Research Group https://web.uri.edu/gso/research/dynamics/
Hurricane Modeling Group Research Group https://web.uri.edu/hurricane-research/
Marine Ecosystems Research Laboratory Research Group https://web.uri.edu/gso/research/marine-ecosystems-research-laboratory/
Ocean Robotics Program Research Group https://web.uri.edu/gso/research/ocean-robotics/
Physical Oceanography & Remote Sensing Research Group www.po.gso.uri.edu/index.html
Quantitative Microbiology Group Research Group https://www.inomura.com/
Rhode Island Marine Fisheries Institute collaborative Research Group https://web.uri.edu/rimfi
Laboratories    
Beinart Lab Laboratory https://www.beinartlab.com/
D’Hondt Lab (Geobiology) Laboratory www.gso.uri.edu/dhondtlab/Welcome_to_the_DHondt_Lab.html
Kelley Group and Micro-Analytical Geochemistry Laboratory Laboratory; Service Center www.gso.uri.edu/kelley/Welcome.html
Lohmann Lab (Persistent Organic Pollutants) Laboratory https://web.uri.edu/lohmannlab/
McMahon Ocean Ecogeochemistry Lab Laboratory http://keltonmcmahon.com/
Menden-Deuer Lab (Plankton Ecology) Laboratory http://mendendeuerlab.com
Ocean Carbon Lab Laboratory https://web.uri.edu/gso/research/ocean-carbon-lab/
Ocean Circulation and Biogeochemistry Lab Laboratory https://jaimepalter.wixsite.com/urigso
Omand Lab Laboratory https://momand7.wixsite.com/omandlab
Paleomagnetics Laboratory Laboratory Contact John King
Robinson Lab (Nitrogen and Carbon Cycles) Laboratory https://web.uri.edu/gso/research/robinson-lab/
Rynearson Lab (Plankton Ecology and Evolution) Laboratory https://web.uri.edu/rynearson-lab/
Seismology Lab Laboratory https://sites.google.com/view/seismo/home
Smart Ocean Systems Lab Laboratory https://soslab.wordpress.com/
Smith Lab Laboratory www.gso.uri.edu/dcsmith/index.html
Walsh COAST Lab Laboratory https://web.uri.edu/gso/research/research-facilities/walsh-laboratory/
Wei Lab Laboratory https://weilaburi.wixsite.com/home
Service Centers    
CHN Analyses Service Center https://web.uri.edu/gso/research/chn-analyses/
Inner Space Center Service Center https://web.uri.edu/gso/research/research-facilities/inner-space-center/
Kelley Group and Micro-Analytical Geochemistry Laboratory Laboratory; Service Center www.gso.uri.edu/kelley/Welcome.html
Marine Science Research Facility Service Center https://web.uri.edu/marinefacility/
Collections/Libraries    
Fish Sounds Collection/Library web.uri.edu/gso/research/fish-sounds
Marine Geological Samples Laboratory Sample Repository/Library https://web.uri.edu/gso/research/research-facilities/marine-geological-samples-laboratory/
National Sea Grant Library Collection/Library https://nsgl.gso.uri.edu/
Pell Marine Science Library Collection/Library https://web.uri.edu/gso/academics/pell-marine-science-library/
Other Resourcess    
Computer Services Other Resources https://web.uri.edu/gso/administration/facilities/computer-services/
Research Diving & Safety Program Other Resources https://web.uri.edu/research-admin/diving-safety-research-program/