URI
Think Big, We Do.
Rhode Island Seal

Research & Interests

Oleg Andreev (URI)
Molecular motors, asymmetric friction, anisotropic imaging, microscopy, in vivo fluorescence imaging, nanowires, delivery of nanoparticles to diseased tissue.
andreev@mail.uri.edu

Ruth Iris Bahar (Brown)
Nanoscale computing, noise analysis of nanoscale circuits, reliable computing under high defect and highly noisy conditions, self-assembly.
Ruth_Bahar@Brown.edu

Amit Basu (Brown)
Glycobiology and materials science. Dendritic, polymer and nanoparticle probes for cell surface carbohydrate recognition; Nanoscale polymer architectures.
Amit_Basu@Brown.edu

Roderic Beresford (Brown)
Semiconductor nanostructures and epitaxy, pattern-driven quantum dot growth; direct nanoelectronic detection of redox reactions; nanoscale sensing and control of biological processes.
Rod_Beresford@Brown.edu

Janet Blume (Brown)
Educational outreach developing ways to bring nanoscale engineering into pre-college biology, chemistry, and physics curricula.
Janet_Blume@Brown.edu

Arijit Bose (URI)
Soft and hard nanomaterial fabrication; colloidal and interfacial science; imaging of soft nanomaterial; synthesis and evaluation of self-healing materials.
bosea@egr.uri.edu

Allan Bower (Brown)
Computer simulation of the mechanical behavior of structural, electronic and biological materials.
Allan_Bower@Brown.edu

Geoffrey D. Bothun (URI)
Role of nanoparticle-cell membrane interactions in nanotoxicology; structure and function of liposome- nanoparticle assemblies (LNAs) for therapeutic application; nanoscale confinement effects on membrane modification, separation, and transport; nanostructured antifouling and responsive surfaces.
bothun@egr.uri.edu

Kenneth Breuer (Brown)
Nanoscale fluid mechanics and transport processes, fluid-surface interactions, behavior of nanoscale particles and flexible filaments in fluids, diffusion and heat transfer, mechanics of biological motion and adhesion, experimental techniques for nanoscale fluid measurements.
KBreuer@Brown.edu

Phil Brown
Social and ethical implications of nanotechnology; public understanding of nanotechnology; precautionary approaches; regulation.

Eric Chason (Brown)
Evolution of surfaces and thin film structures, non-equilibrium processing (growth, ion bombardment); self-assembled nanostructures; real-time diagnostics (stress, roughness, surface and interface morphology, defect formation); simulation and modeling.
Eric_Chason_PhD@Brown.edu

Vinka Craver (URI)
Novel wastewater purification technologies and management systems; engineering properties of organoclays for pollutant removal, containment, and prevention; sustainable water and wastewater treatment technologies for developing global communities.
craver@mail.uri.edu

William Curtin (Brown)
Computational materials science and nano- and micro-mechanics of materials; multiscale modeling of deformation, fracture and fatigue with applications to metals, alloys, nanomaterials, fiber-reinforced composites, and nanocomposites.
William_Curtin@Brown.edu

Jason R. Dwyer (URI)
Nanofabricated tools, in particular robust single molecule nanopore devices, for bioanalytical sensing applications and fundamental biophysics studies. Research program weds chemical synthesis with nanofabrication to achieve superior device performance.
jdwyer@chm.uri.edu

Mohammad Faghri (URI)
Microfluides with applications in point-of-care diagnostics.
faghri@egr.uri.edu

Dmitri Feldman (Brown)
Quantum Hall effect and its applications in quantum information science, quantum wires, nanomagnets, spintronics, soft matter in random porous media.
Dmitri_Feldman@Brown.edu

Christian Franck (Brown)
Nano and micro mechanics of soft matter, cell-material interactions, and cell adhesion. Molecular mechanisms of mechanosensing in cells.
Christian_Franck@Brown.edu

Huajian Gao (Brown)
Modeling and simulation of mechanical properties of nanomaterials, nanomechanics of biological systems, mechanical principles of hierarchical materials, size effects, thin films, nanostructured materials, nanomechanics of cell and vesicle adhesion.
Huajian_Gao@Brown.edu

Michael Greenfield (URI)
Molecular simulation and multiscale modeling of chemical, physical, and mechanical structure and properties in polymers, fluids, and asphalts; application of statistical mechanics to complicated systems of practical interest.
greenfield@egr.uri.edu

Pradeep Guduru (Brown)
Experimental mechanics at nano and micro-scales; biologically inspired contact mechanics, adhesion and friction; guided assembly and surface engineering.
Pradeep_Guduru@Brown.edu

Karen Haberstroh (Brown)
Nano-structured polymers for soft tissue engineering. novel methods in science education, nanotechnology classroom outreach.
Karen_Marie_Haberstroh@Brown.edu

Diane Hoffman-Kim (Brown)
Nanomaterials for nerve growth: biomimetic and 3D materials; in vitro platforms for studying nerve development and nerve regeneration at the nanoscale.
Diane_Hoffman-Kim@Brown.EDU

Robert Hurt (Brown)
Nanomaterials and their biological and environmental applications/implications; carbon nanomaterials, nanotoxicology, interfacial phenomena, liquid crystals and supramolecular assembly, material chemistry approaches for safe nanomaterial formulation, nanoparticle cell delivery.
Robert_Hurt@Brown.edu

Agnes Kane (Brown)
Nanotoxicology, cellular interactions with nanomaterials, nanomaterials for targeted cancer therapy, biocompatibility of nanomaterials.
Agnes_Kane@Brown.edu

Kyung-Suk Kim (Brown)
Nanomechanics, AFM nanometrology, Nanotribology.
Kyung-Suk_Kim@Brown.edu

Sharvan Kumar (Brown)
Defects in crystalline solids, their motion, interaction and consequences on deformation; mechanical behavior of nanocrystalline materials; experimental techniques for defect characterization.
Sharvan_Kumar@Brown.edu

Mindy Levine (URI)
Supramolecular organic chemistry. Chiral polymers and biological complexation; self-assembled fluorescent macrocycles for sensing and catalysis.
mlevine@chm.uri.edu

Xinsheng Sean Ling (Brown)
Nanopore DNA sequencing, nanofabrication, optical and magnetic tweezers, nanomechanical measurements on single biomolecules, nanobiology.
Xinsheng_Ling@Brown.edu

Diane Lipscombe (Brown)
Nanomaterial interactions with ion channels and effects on neuronal signaling.
Lipscombe_Diane@Brown.edu

Wei Lu (URI)
Nanotechnology for cancer diagnosis and therapeutics (theranostics). Examines the potential for clinical translation of, for example, photothermal therapy, molecular imaging, controlled release of chemotherapeutic agents and nucleic acids, and vaccine development for cancer theranostics.
weilu@uri.edu

Humphrey Maris (Brown)
Acoustic measurements on thin films and nanostructures, development of an ultra-high resolution acoustic microscope, imaging the motion of single electrons in liquid helium.
Humphrey_Maris@Brown.edu

John Bradley Marston (Brown)
Quantum chemistry of actinide nano-complexes with application to the problem of high level nuclear waste disposal; physics of quantum many-body systems driven far from equilibrium.
John_Marston@Brown.edu

Lenore Martin (URI)
Modeling protein structural motifs ; novel therapeutic agents using natural scaffolds; combinatorial libraries for the generation and screening of novel antibiotics and anti-tumor agents; topoisomerase inhibition and action of peptide antibiotics; biophysical properties of peptides and proteins.
martin@uriacc.uri.edu

Edith Mathiowitz (Brown)
The polymer/medicine interface; nanoparticles as novel therapeutic delivery systems, small-diameter vascular grafts with better compliance; novel bioadhesive polymers for oral delivery, liquid crystals as smart sensors.
Edith_Matahiowitz@Brown.edu

Vesna F. Mitrovic (Brown)
Nuclear magnetic resonance of nanoscale inhomogeneity, magnetic nanoparticles, and molecules.
Vemi@Brown.edu

Jeffrey Morgan (Brown)
3D cell culture and in vitro micro-tissues for testing the toxicity and therapeutic potential of nano-materials.
Jeffrey_Morgan@Brown.edu

Arto Nurmikko (Brown)
Nanophotonics, active electronic nanomaterials, and neuroenginering and neurotechnology including new approaches to interfacing the brain by nanoscale implantable devices.
Arto_Nurmikko@Brown.edu

Domenico Pacifici (Brown)
Silicon-based nanophotonics; optical and electrical properties of semiconductor quantum dots; metamaterials; periodic and quasiperiodic nanostructures in metal films; nanoengineered materials and devices for optical communications, biochemical sensing and energy harvesting solutions.
Domenico_Pacifici@brown.edu

David Paine (Brown)
Imaging and structure analysis at the nanoscale using electron microscopy, amorphous and nano-structured metal oxides for transparent, flexible, and large area electronics, transparent conducting oxide applications, (transparent) thin film transistors.
David_Paine@Brown.edu

Tayhas Palmore (Brown)
Nanomaterial components in biofuel cells, photovoltaics, batteries; cellular scaffolds; genetically engineered machines; self-assembly of molecular solids.
Tayhas_Palmore@Brown.edu

Robert Pelcovits (Brown)
Theory and simulation of soft matter including liquid crystals and liquid crystalline elastomers, confinement of nanoscale systems, topological defects, lipid membranes and vesicles.
Robert_Pelcovits@Brown.edu

Thomas Powers (Brown)
Soft condensed matter physics: lipid bilayer membranes, biological filaments, liquid crystals, rheology, interfacial physics, and swimming motility.
Thomas_Powers@Brown.edu

David M. Rand (Brown)
Nanomaterial effects in evolutionary, ecological and environmental genomics; Drosophila population genetics, ecotoxicology; mitochondrial genetics and aging; oxidative stress.
David_Rand@Brown.edu

Sherief Reda (Brown)
Design and analysis of sub-100 nanometer integrated circuits, models of variations in nanoscale device performance, variation-tolerant designs and circuit fabrics.
Sherief_Reda@Brown.edu

Yana Reshetnyak (URI)
Membrane-associated folding, membrane biophysics, protein structure, fluorescence spectroscopy, microscopy, imaging, novel peptide-based delivery agents (PHLIPs).
reshetnyak@mail.uri.edu

William Risen (Brown)
Aerogels including gold and magnetic nanoparticles, photochemistry and catalysis related to nanoparticles, carbon nanoparticles.
William_Risen@Brown.edu

Christoph Rose-Petruck (Brown)
Nanomaterials for bio-medical imaging applications and x-ray nano-microscopy using laboratory plasma x-ray sources.
Christoph_Rose-Petruck@Brown.edu

John Savage (Brown)
Nanowire decoders, nanowire encoding, nanoscale memory and logic, coded computation at the nanoscale.
John_Savage@Brown.edu

Jason Sello (Brown)
Functional nanoparticles for catlysis and for separation of low molecular weight compounds.
Jason_Sello@Brown.edu

Surendra Sharma (Brown)
Nanomaterial distribution in tissue and effects on pregnancy outcomes.
Sharma_Surendra@Brown.edu

Brian Sheldon (Brown)
Nanomaterials synthesis, especially vapor phase methods, nanomechanical behavior of materials, nanocrystalline diamond films, nanostructured superhydrophobic surfaces, and nanocrystalline oxides for electrochemical applications.
Brian_Sheldon@Brown.edu

Vivek Shenoy (Brown)
Mechanics of nanoscale surface instabilities, patterning and self-assembly, theory and computational modeling of thin film and surface growth processes, cell adhesion and motility.
Vivek_Shenoy@Brown.edu

Arun Shukla (URI)
The goal of our research is to develop smart polymeric materials that can report critical material deformation through an embedded electrically conductive network under highly dynamic loadings. We are also interested in using nano size reinforcements to improve mechanical properties of host polymers.
shuklaa@egr.uri.edu

Derek Stein (Brown)
Nano-biophysics, nanopores and novel DNA sequencing strategies, nanofluidics and medical diagnostic applications, DNA-protein interactions, single-molecule biophysics, single-molecule polymer physics.
Derek_Stein@Brown.edu

Richard Stratt (Brown)
Ultrafast spectroscopy; dynamics of liquids, supercooled liquids, and glassy systems; disordered materials and clusters; energy relaxation and the molecular origins of friction.
Richard_StrattBrown.edu

Shouheng Sun (Brown)
Nanomaterials synthesis, self-assembly, magnetic nanoparticles, nanocrystal arrays for information storage and fuel cell catalysts, functional nanoparticles for target-specific diagnostics/therapeutics.
SSun@Brown.edu

Dwight Sweigart (Brown)
Surface modification of metallic nanoparticles with organometallic complexes for catalytic, electrochemical, and self-assembly applications. self-supporting heterogeneous nanocatalysts consisting of supramolecular metal-organometallic coordination network assemblies.
Dwight_Sweigart@Brown.edu

Jay Tang (Brown)
Nanoscale assembly and dynamics of the cytoskeletal protein filaments F-actin and microtubules, integrin mediated adhesion and migration of neutrophils and T-cells, molecular mechanisms of bacterial adhesion.
Jay_Tang@Brown.edu

Anubhav Tripathi (Brown)
Nanoparticle-based technologies for biomarker/protein identification and separation, biocompatible nanoparticles for bacterial lysis, new encapsulation procedures for drugs and chemical agents, transport through soft matter, disease diagnostics applications using microfluids and nanofluidics platform.
Anubhav_Tripathi@Brown.edu

James Valles, Jr. (Brown)
Nano-structured superconductors, nano-crystal array formation, magnetic manipulation of bio-molecular assemblies.
James_Valles_Jr@Brown.edu

Lai-Sheng Wang (Brown)
Experimental and theoretical studies of the size-dependent electronic, chemical, and structural properties of isolated nanoclusters; Nanomaterials and nanocatalysis; spectroscopic characterization of solution molecules and multiply-charged anions in the gas phase.
lai-sheng_wang@brown.edu

Li-Qiong Wang (Brown)
Synthesis and characterization of nanomaterials in batteries; Solid-state NMR investigation of self-assembled nanostructural materials, nanoporosity and ion diffusion in batteries and super-capacitors.
li-qiong_wang@brown.edu

Peter Weber (Brown)
Molecular dynamics, nanoscale dynamics, molecular structure characterization, time resolved spectroscopy.
Peter_Weber@Brown.edu

Thomas Webster (Brown)
Tissue engineering, implants, nanomaterial synthesis, protein and cell interactions with nanomaterials, foreign body response of nanomaterials, nanotoxicity, nanomedicine.
Thomas_Webster@Brown.edu

David Worthen (URI)
A multi-functional/multi-drug delivery system is being developed via polymersomes.
dworthen@ds.uri.edu

Gang Xiao (Brown)
Electron transport and magnetism in low dimensional systems such as metallic thin films, superlattices and ultrafine particles, physics of novel superconducting and magnetic nanostructures, high temperature superconductivity.
Xiao@physics.Brown.edu

Jingming Xu (Jimmy) (Brown)
Quantum photonics, aperiodic optics, semiconductor lasers, molecular electro-optics, collective behavior of large coupled systems; carbon nanotube structures, synthesis of quantum-arrays, DNA conductivity, physics of redox processes in proteins and cells.
Jingming_Xu@Brown.edu

Sze Yang (URI)
Synthesis of conducting polymers for new optical and electronic materials; design of new analytical techniques to study structure-property relationships in these new materials; and construction of “molecular” devices and testing for their practical uses.
syang@uri.edu

See-Chen Ying (Brown)
Dynamics of polymers and DNA through nanoscale restrictions, free energy landscapes of complex systems at nanoscale, nanotribology, dislocation generation and motion in heteroepitaxial systems.
See-Chen_Ying@Brown.edu

Alexander Zaslavsky (Brown)
Semiconductor nanowires and nanodots, tunneling nanodevices, nanolayered semiconductor-on-insulator materials, epitaxial nanowire heterojunctions.
Alexander_Zaslavsky@Brown.edu

Anatoly Zhitkovich (Brown)
Toxic effects of nanomaterials and catalytic metals, cancer cell-targeting application.
Anatoly_Zhitkovich@Brown.edu

Rashid Zia (Brown)
Near-field optics and nanophotonics, optical properties of nanostructured materials, metallic nanoparticles, atomic emission process and novel nanoscale light emitters.
Rashid_Zia@Brown.edu

Matthew Zimmt (Brown)
Self-assembly, spontaneously patterning monolayer templates for 3D assembly, molecular electronics, nanoparticle diagnostics.
Matthew_Zimmt@Brown.edu

Copyright © 2014 University of Rhode Island.

The University of Rhode Island
Think Big, We Do.
A-ZDirectoryContact UsJump to top