Chowder & Marching

Upcoming Events

Clothing Swap: Friday, March 31st at 11am-4pm in the Student Lounge (Aquarium Annex). Bring your unwanted clothes in leading up to the event! Trade for a fresh new wardrobe! Leftover clothes will be donated.

New E-Board Elections (Nominations): Nominate your second-year peers to run for next year’s Chowder and Marching E-Board! Open now until April 15th.

Student Art Show: We’re showcasing GSOE art on campus in April, because we’re more than just our research! Please fill this out to present your art.

Chowder & Chili Cook-off: Thursday, April 13th in the Mosby Center.
Chefs please register here. Tasters/visitors just show up!

New E-Board Elections (Voting): Opens Monday, April 17th. Vote for next year’s Chowder and Marching E-Board! 

Trivia Night (DOUBLE HEADER!): Thursday, April 27th from 4-6:30pm in the Mosby Center. Round 1 from 4-5pm, Pizza at 5pm, Round 2 at 5:30-6:30pm. $50 gift cards to  WaterLust for EACH member of the winning teams. Ocean-themed questions! No registration needed. 

May the 4th Be With You 5K: Thursday, May 4th at 9am on Bay Campus. Runners and walkers report at 8:45am, register here. Star Wars and other themed costumes encouraged!

Stay connected!

Instagram: @candm_gso 

Twitter: @CandM_GSO


Executive Board

From left to right: Bryan Plankenhorn (Treasurer), Andria Miller (President), Mollie Passacantando (Vice President), Raul Guiterrez (Communications Chair), Phil Parisi (Ocean Engineer Rep), Shawn Chambers (not pictured, Ocean Engineer Rep)


Chowder and Marching (C&M) is a student organization at the University of Rhode Island’s Narragansett Bay Campus, whose major objective is to address all GSOE (Graduate School of Oceanography and Ocean Engineering) students’ professional, academic, and social needs and concerns.

C&M is heavily involved in the social environment of the Bay Campus, sponsoring and organizing GSOE activities such as Boat Burning, barbecues, trivia, and more throughout the year. We provide a framework which enhances communication between GSOE students, faculty, and administration, enabling us to identify and address specific issues of concern to students.

C&M determines its specific goals based on the input of the student body. Progress on these goals is reported and discussed at hour-long meetings held on a weekly basis. The organization is led by an Executive Committee elected annually by peers. The primary source of revenue for the Society comes from the generous donations of Faculty, Students, and Alumni. Valid expenditures of these funds are those which promote the goals of C&M.

Past Executive Boards

Academic YearMembers   
2022-2023Andria Miller – President
Mollie Passacantando – Vice President
Bryan Plankenhorn – Treasurer
Raul Guiterrez – Communications Chair
Phil Parisi & Shawn Chambers – Ocean Engineering Reps
2021-2022Josh Pi – President
Ginny Cousens – Vice President
Rebecca Lippitt – Treasurer
Coralie Rodriguez – Communications Chair
2020-2021Kotachi Liu – President
Izak Hill – Vice President
Isabel Dove – Treasurer
Erin Jones – Communications Chair
2019-2020Luis Pomales – President
Matt Dunn & Kyle Turner – Vice President
Sarah Nickford – Treasurer
Diana Fontaine – Communications Chair
2018-2019Victoria Fulfer – President
Catrina Nowakowski – Vice President
Jacob Stock – Treasurer
Basia Marks – Social Media Chair
2017-2018Joe Zottoli – President
Afonso Goncalves – Vice President
Sam Gartzman – Treasurer
Rebecca Stevick – Communications Chair
Joe Langan – Outreach Chair
2016-2017Kira Homola - President
Sierra Davis – Vice President
Colin Jones – Treasurer
2015-2016Kira Homola - President
Casey Hearn – Vice President
Colin Jones – Treasurer
Austen Blair – Social Media Chair