Congratulations to Dean Corliss and Professor Menden-Deuer

bdc-addressDean Bruce Corliss has been elected as the incoming Chair of the American Association for the Advancement of Science’s (AAAS) Section on Geology and Geography. The AAAS is an international non-profit organization dedicated to advancing science for the benefit of all people. Dean Corliss’ tenure will initiate with him serving as the Chair-Elect between February 2016 and February 2017, and he will then serve as Chair from February 2017 to February 2018. The Dean’s election to this prominent position with AAAS is recognition of his and GSO’s leadership in this field.






smendendeuerProfessor Susanne Menden-Deuer has been elected ASLO Fellow as part of their inaugural class. The Association for the Sciences of Limnology and Oceanography (ASLO) Fellows program was initiated in 2015 to honor ASLO members who have advanced the aquatic sciences via their exceptional contributions to the benefit of the society and its publications, meetings, and other activities. The inaugural class is being honored for their commitment and service to ASLO that has enabled the society to advance the sciences of limnology and oceanography. The 2015 ASLO Fellows will be honored at the ASLO Meeting in Santa Fe in June 2016. This is a tremendous honor for Susanne and her work reflects very highly on GSO.