Celebrating the 2022 graduates

Congratulations to the Class of 2022! On Friday, May 20, 27 students were recognized at the Annual GSO Shirting Ceremony, a time-honored tradition in celebration of GSO’s graduates. On Saturday, May 21, the Graduate School degrees were conferred during an individual college ceremony held in the Ryan Center. On Sunday, May 22, Robert Ballard, GSO professor and alum (Ph.D. ’74, Hon. ’86) delivered the URI commencement address.


2022 GSO graduates (and their major professors)

Master of Oceanography:

2022 Shirting Ceremony: Bottom row, from left – Loes van Dam, Danielle Moore, Ita Wulandari, Desak Made Pera Rosita Dewi, Meredith Haas. Top row, from left – Kevin Bongiovanni, Olivia Ahern, Kristin Huizenga, Isaac Davidson, Pengcheng Shi.

Kevin Bongiovanni
John Cosgrove
Isaac Davidson
Pera Desak Made
Meredith Haas
Ryan McGinnis
Danielle Moore
Nolan Salyer
Christopher Sireci
Fawzan Soffa
Jessie Tenaglia
Rizkie Utama

Blue MBA:

GSO 2022 graduates, from left: Ita Wulandari, Desak Made Pera Rosita Dewi, Associate Dean David Smith, Isaac Davidson, Danielle Moore and Pengcheng Shi.

Jeremy Belknap
Jacob Beretta
Gabriel Rodriguez
Samuel Rosengarden

Master of Science in Oceanography:

Mikayla Cote (Menden-Deuer)
Izak Hill (Lohmann)
Maria Manz (Wetherbee)
Ita Wulandari (Lohmann)

Doctor of Philosophy in Oceanography:

Olivia Ahern (Rynearson)
Benjamin Grassian (Roman)
Kristin Huizenga (Oviatt)
Zachary Kerrigan (D’Hondt)
Joe Langan (Collie)
Pengcheng Shi (Wei)
Loes van Dam (Kincaid)